Success! I’m free of AT&T!

I have left AT&T. When I called to complain (yet again) about my intermittent DSL service (which continued all evening because it was still raining), the screwed up order, and other such delights, I learned a valuable piece of information. I was no longer under any contract with them for phone or DSL. I asked and had the person repeat themselves 3 times just to be sure. Apparently the previous customer service individual I spoke to was wrong (this is NOT surprising). No contract meant I could leave them at any time without penalty. Apparently the gods were smiling on me.

So I left. Effective Wednesday afternoon I am a Verizon customer. My home phone number will NOT change. And I’m actually going to save quite a bit of money since I can now bundle my phone, internet (DSL), TV and wireless into one bill. One bill to pay for all those services. Simplification at it’s finest not to mention using less paper! And voice mail is included. No more paying for voice mail (AT&T…get a clue and enter the 21st century: stop charging for voice mail!). Just the phone service alone is cheaper than what I could get as the most basic service through AT&T. Their high speed internet is cheaper by over $10 too. What’s more, bundling gives me some nice discounts on services I already had (TV and wireless). I’ve been a happy Verizon wireless customer for about 5 years and I have no complaints about my DirecTV service during the past year (except when the weather wrecks havoc with my reception during my favorite shows, but that’s not their fault). So far this looks promising. At the very least, I won’t have to be insulted by AT&T’s customer “service” reps when I call to report a problem anymore. That alone is worth switching companies for.

So good-bye to AT&T. No more frustrating so-called customer service for me!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life, phone. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Success! I’m free of AT&T!

  1. e says:

    Well, I wish you well with Verizon’s phone and DSL service. I’ve always had horrible service with them so I can’t tell you that are going to see a significant difference. I guess it is one reason why I don’t rely on a landline.

  2. Shana says:

    It sure as hell can’t be worse than being insulted by the AT&T people every time I call about anything. The clincher? When I was told they can’t refund the service charge because it hasn’t shown up on my bill. I have to PETITION to have it removed once it shows up, despite the fact that they screwed up my order.But I have had good luck with the Verizon wireless people, so hopefully their other offices are as good.

Leave a Reply

