What friends are for

What do you get when you put together 3 type-A personalities to help move a 4th type-A personality? Entertainment, of course!

Saturday I drove down to the Washington, DC area. SB, one of my good friends from my PCOR (previous city of residence), has moved to just outside of DC in Maryland. And two of my other good friends had driven over with her to help. LC, LP, and SB helped me when I was leaving, too. If your best friends, who don’t want you to leave, are willing to help you move far away, you know you have the best friends in the world.

Anyway, SB, LC, LP and LP’s roomie A drove over from my PCOR on Friday (a very very long drive with SB’s two cats and her dog just to make it interesting). They couldn’t get into the apartment until Saturday morning at 9am, so I got up literally before dawn, got my dog and myself in the car with plenty of coffee (for me), and drove down to join them, a little less than 2 1/2 hours each way. The drama started immediately. When the truck was loaded and locked up, the lock was put on in such a way that they couldn’t get the key in to unlock it. Fortunately, we had help in the form of A. He did something involving a brute force and wrench and managed to get the truck open. I didn’t witness the application of brute force and frankly, I don’t want to know.

This is where the type-A personalities really made things interesting. SB was moving into a small second floor apartment. There was a living room, bedroom, kitchen, and a spare bedroom/office. The bathroom was occupied by her cats. Because SB also has a dog, the dog was put in her crate in the spare room (now forever dubbed “Rosie’s room”), and Aussie napped in my car all day (just trying to contain the drama a bit). We all were trying to organize things, offering advice as to where boxes should go, when to move in specific items of furniture, etc. We had a really funny moment where LP commented on how it was clear that SB didn’t care anymore so we could do what we wanted now, which SB heard, started to object but then realized was true so we all had a good laugh break. But none-the-less everything got moved in. SB has about a third of the stuff that the rest of us have (i.e. only two boxes of books…right now I have three boxes of books to GIVE AWAY…imagine how many boxes of books I’m keeping). With LP moving things from the back of the truck to the ramp, and me, SB, LC and A taking things upstairs, it only took about an hour and a half. An hour and a half of good work, and we were all definitely tired by the end, but it all got done.

Except for the couch. SB had a full sized couch with big poufy arms on it. Yes, HAD. She no longer has said couch because it couldn’t fit up the stairs and through the door. Just before the landing in front of her apartment door there was a right turn. What’s more, the landing was small, and had a low and sloped ceiling. There was no way that couch was gonna fit. And we tried. We moved it up the stairs, got it all the way to the turn in the stairs and then realized that the way we had it wasn’t going to make the turn. So we moved it back down flipped it around a different way and tried again. Back up the stairs. This time we made the right turn, but couldn’t get it onto the landing or through the door. Despite all five of us trying to get that couch into her apartment, it just wasn’t going to fit. No way no how. So we moved it back down the stairs and back into the truck to be taken away and donated. Fortunately SB didn’t have any attachment to the couch and was willing to part with it. Eventually she will get a new (smaller) couch or futon (that can be taken apart to move it). Sunday I realized that I have a bruise on my shoulder from where the couch was resting as we tried to get it up the stairs. No, I can’t tell you when the bruise happened, but the couch was resting on my shoulder at one point as I supported it with my legs on the stairs.

Once the truck was returned, the rental car for LC, LP and A’s trip back home was picked up, and a pizza was ordered and picked up (OMG zpizza is delicious!), we all had a chance to sit and visit for awhile. So good to have some time. I really miss them all so very much. That’s the sucky thing about moving, you have to leave people behind. Lucky for us in this day and age you’re never that far away. The drive down to SB’s new place is easily a day trip so hopefully we’ll see each other more often. And I’ll make a trip back to see LC and LP for a long weekend in March for my birthday.

My legs are sore from all the trips up and down the stairs (despite all my biking), but I’m still smiling from the opportunity to see my friends for the day. It was worth it.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

