Happy Halloween!!

I do hope everyone is celebrating the day and having some fun with it. I, for one, am sitting here at work in a set of sequined and sparkley devil horns and a matching tail. My colleagues keep doing double takes. I keep telling people I’m not actually wearing a costume…they are there all the time and just happen to be visible today because it’s Halloween. (Joking!…sort of…)

I do love this day. It’s so much fun. I love seeing how creative people can get with their costumes and pumpkin carving. The “barfing” pumpkins crack me up. And some are such incredible works of art! My dad was always the best carver on the block, even giving our pumpkins hair. We also always tried to pick out the pumpkins from the patch that had the most “character” so we could get even more creative. He could carve just about any design or face we drew. And we’d roast the pumpkin seeds after separating them from the guts…so yummy. Mom would seriously deck the house out with fake cobwebs (yes, fake), complete with plastic spiders, candelabras with white candles that dripped red wax when lit, and all varieties of spooky things. She had some friends over for a visit one year, and one of them reached back to get her drink from the side table, encountering one of the cobwebs in the process, and screamed bloody murder! And had a good laugh about it afterwards. It was fabulous!

Even Aussie gets into the Halloween spirit! She’s got two costumes: a pumpkin hat and devil horns. She doesn’t like the pumpkin. When I put it on her she mopes. But the horns, now those she prances around in showing off. My little devil dog…takes after her mama (yes, me).

Aussie in her horns last Halloween
(all tuckered out at the end of the night)

So tonight Aussie and I will be wearing matching horns again this year and waiting for any trick-or-treaters. I’m not sure if I’ll get any, as there are lots of block parties that people go to and events at community centers and churches instead. I’m putting the big ceramic electric jack-o-lantern my grandmother painted decades ago in my window in an attempt to entice a few kids in costumes to come knock on the door. If not, well, my colleagues will be treated to a variety of leftover candy tomorrow, as it must leave the house lest I eat it all.

Ironically, I went to the dentist yesterday afternoon for my six-month cleaning and check up. And today (and probably tomorrow) I’ll be eating lots of candy corn and chocolate. Fortunately, my dentist gave my teeth a clean bill of health, so as long as I brush well I’ll be fine despite all the sugar I’ll be consuming.

Happy Halloween!!
About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Aussie, dog, Halloween, holiday. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

