Leak update

I still have that hole in my dining room ceiling. Pictures on Flickr.

My landlord came by yesterday with the handyman-from-hell to check out the damage and determine what needed to be done. They found the crack in the roof, and you could see some of the buckling in the roofing due to previous water exposure. This has been building for quite some time now, and the heavy rain we got last week just pushed the damage over the edge and brought down the ceiling (literally). I now think it’s a combination of an inefficient drain (just doesn’t drain fast enough) and the roof in that area not having a steep enough slope for the water to drain off quickly so it sits for a few days after a heavy rain. The roof area in question was cleaned up, assessed (extent of damage, what supplies are needed, etc.), and prepared for repair.

They’re supposed to actually fix the roof after work today, starting promptly at 5:30pm, and bring a new ceiling tile to replace the damaged one currently still on my floor. My landlord’s business partner will be there to supervise the handyman so I don’t have to interact with him (my landlord respected my refusal to work with said handyman alone ever again due to previous experiences).

Hopefully everything will go smoothly, the handyman will actually show up, and I’ll have my dining room back and cleaned up by Wednesday.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in house, leak. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

