Too much rain, or, I’m glad I’m renting

So yesterday (Saturday) morning I woke up and proceeded downstairs to make coffee and take the dog out. I had a plan for my day. Little did I know my plan was about to be derailed.

As I walked into the dining room, I noticed there were chunks of dirt or something on the floor. That’s weird…I was planning on cleaning, but when I went to bed last night all that was there was dog fur. Then I looked in the corner by the window (there’s only one window in the dining room). There’s a ceiling tile. On top of the dog kennel. It should be in the drop ceiling. But it’s sitting on the dog kennel. And there’s dirt and water on the radiator and window in the corner. WTF? So I investigate.

It appears that all the rain we got during the previous four days made the leak in the ceiling appear. The leak has probably been there for quite some time given the condition of the ceiling underneath the drop ceiling tiles and the condition of the tile that fell down. And it’s still raining (remember, this is Saturday morning).

So much for a trip to the farmers’ market.

I proceed to call and leave a message for my landlord, who I know is out of town, but I couldn’t find another number to call (remember, this is all before coffee). I tell her that there’s a leak, and one of the ceiling tiles has fallen down, and water is still dripping down the window on the inside and onto the floor in the corner. I then proceed to clean up, moving everything of mine away from the corner, and everything near it at least 3 feet further away. There was a blanket (clean) sitting on top of the dog kennel that’s now covered in debris and is all damp, so it’s now waiting to be washed. And the kennel is now on the opposite side of the dining room. Aussie keeps lying in it as if she’s “reclaiming” it. The look on her face was “I don’t care if it’s moved it’s still mine and I’m going to prove it by lying in it, see!?” and she spent all almost all afternoon in it. I swept all the scattered debris into the corner with the ceiling tile and other dirt, debris, pieces of wood, etc. I’m not cleaning that up until my landlord or her business partner sees it (they also may need to document it for insurance purposes). Fortunately, the rain has stopped.

So for now one-fourth of my dining room is not usable. Not that I ever really have used it, but still. And I’m very lucky that the only personal property issue is a dirty blanket. No damage to my stuff. And it’s not my problem. All I have to do is notify someone else and they have to fix it. This is an argument for NOT buying a home in my mind.

I think the leak is the result of a not-so-efficient drain. I brought it up before, and the so-called handyman (remember the carpet debacle?) said it was fine, no issues, and the water I had seen on the inside of the window must have been condensation. Um, no, it wasn’t condensation. Proving yet again that I was right in my decision to refuse to work with said handyman every again. Sigh.

I am SO glad I’m a renter right now. But now the question is how long until this is fixed? The waiting on someone else to fix things is the bad part of being a renter. But I don’t have to fix it, which is good and I think outweighs the waiting issue. Because it’s a mess. I’m just praying we don’t get any more rain before it’s fixed.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in house, leak, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

