Grumble

Are some people just oblivious to the fact that they share the planet with other people? Seriously. How can you not realize that what you do has an impact?

Case in point. Last night I had trouble falling asleep. This is not unusual. Especially when I have lots of stuff on my mind. I tossed and turned, listening to my dog snore and cursing her ability to sleep at the drop of a hat, for a good hour after I crawled into bed. I finally fell asleep.

Less than an hour later, I was woken up by the sound of a car horn. My first thought was damn car alarms. Shortly, however, I realized that this car horn was not coupled with an alarm. This was someone intentionally honking their horn repeatedly at 1:00 AM. No sh*t. 1:00 AM. Honking their horn, then hanging their head out the window and screaming for someone, then back to honking the horn. This went on for 20 minutes. I had just gotten up to find my shoes (I was past the point of rationality and was about to take my dog for a walk and sic her on the jacka**) when I heard one of my neighbors yelling at the idiot. Informing him that this was a neighborhood, with KIDS, and it was a school night, so stop laying on the horn like an idiot and get your lazy a** out of the car and go knock on the door.

A brief moment went by, then I heard the car drive away. I don’t know if the person they were honking for ever came out or not. And frankly, I don’t care. I was just glad they left.

Of course, it took me another hour to fall asleep again. I think today is going to be a two cup of coffee day…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in neighborhood, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

