Rugby World Cup Finals!

This is my last post about the Rugby World Cup 2007. I now have to wait another four years for the next one. Sucky.

Anyway, Argentina ended on a high note in the Bronze Final! They defeated France 34 – 10 to take THIRD place! W00T!! Go Pumas! They have now proven themselves to be a force in the world of rugby, defeating France not once, but twice during the tournament. Unprecedented. This was Argentina’s first trip to the Finals and they performed beautifully. France only managed to score one try late in the game to Argentina’s five tries. Argentina maintained control during the match, taking advantage of every mistake France made. France just could not match them technically. Argentina played a magnificent tournament, and they were rewarded with a first ever trip to the Finals and a history making World Cup overall. YAY! [visualize me doing a happy dance around my living room]

In the Final, England took on South Africa. But, much to my joy, they just couldn’t pull off the win. South Africa took the Webb Ellis Cup with a low scoring 15-6 defeat over England. Not a single try was scored, all points came from kicks. England missed both of their attempted dropped goals, but scored twice on penalty kicks. But it was the penalties that did England in…all of South Africa’s points came from penalty kicks. Wow.

Thus ends the 2007 Rugby World Cup. South Africa won, England took second, and Argentina took third! Overall, it was certainly a tournament filled with surprises.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

