Interference

Once a week, I sit down and indulge in an hour of television. OK, so maybe it’s more than just one hour a week, but this particular hour, on a Friday night, is one that I do my best to not miss. I hate recording it to watch later. Really hate it. I don’t want to risk accidentally finding out what happens, I actually want to see it. [I’m about to admit just what a geek I am, so be kind] This weekly television compulsion is Stargate Atlantis. I’ve been a Stargate fan for years. I watched Stargate SG-1 (the original Stargate series). All ten seasons. I even watched the (some would call it bad) Stargate movie that started it all, and in a weird way, really enjoyed it. It’s a cult classic really. As I’ve said before, my scifi roots run deep into my childhood (thanks Dad). Fortunately, this weekly activity didn’t negatively impact my social life. My friends and I had a standing Friday night activity of getting together at each others homes (rotating week to week), making dinner, and watching Stargate. Yes, I’m a geek. And I’m OK with that, because obviously many of my friends are just as geeky as I am. And we always have fun.

Anyway, back to the point of this post, interference.

So, about 47 minutes into this week’s episode, just when it’s getting to the good part and all the suspense they’ve been building is reaching a peak and we’re rapidly moving forward into resolution, there’s a big clap of thunder. Shortly after that, my image and sounds starts cutting in and out. Then I lose it entirely, and I get the lovely message that my satellite dish is searching for a signal. Dammit all to hell. And while I know the character is going to survive, I want to know HOW they save him. Auugghhh!! Normally I love thunderstorms, just not when they interfere with my leisure activities.

Not funny universe. So. Not. Funny. I am not amused.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in tv, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

