Misc. observations and an update

Ever notice how delegating something to someone else to get things off your plate so you can do other things doesn’t actually work?

That said, also ever notice how people can surprise you if you’re patient enough to figure out a way to explain things so they’ll understand? I really need to focus on being more patient and creative in my explanations. It goes a looonngg way.

On to the update. I was out sick on Thursday and Friday. Fever, headache, the whole shebang. Now that the weekend has arrived, it’s developed into a miserable head cold. Good thing I bought the BIG box of tissues last time.

It’s been awhile since I’ve been really sick. I’ve had the occasional migraine, a mild sinus infection, a wicked cold (aka the “conference crud”), a bout of food poisoning, but it had been quite some time since I’d missed more than a day of work because of a fever. I’m not a good sick person. Some people are good sick people. They let people take care of them, they behave, they get lots of rest and they get better.

I am not one of those people.

I hate, really hate being babied when I’m sick. I’ve been that way my whole life…even as an infant I didn’t like being coddled and cuddled when I wasn’t well or had fallen down. Frankly, all I want is for the whole world to go away so I can be miserable all by myself. And if you try to take care of me I’ll tell you to go away. And if you don’t go away, I’ll get mean. Seriously. Just leave me alone to be miserable and when I feel human again I’ll rejoin the world. And I’m not very good at the resting thing. I get impatient and tend to push myself to get back to things before I’m fully better…which means that either it takes me longer to get better or I relapse. For someone with asthma that has a tendency to develop severe respiratory infections, this is not good.

So I’m quite proud of myself this time that I did rest. I slept. A lot. And I made sure I ate good food and drank lots of water and tea. I didn’t push myself, instead, I let myself be sick and what do you know, I actually felt better sooner (there’s a lesson in there somewhere…I’m sure of it). OK, so I have a nasty cold now, but it’s not in my chest and I’m going to continue to take it easy this weekend. I have rugby to watch (the Semi Finals! England v France today and South Africa v Argentina on Sunday! GO ARGENTINA!) and ice hockey to watch. I’m going to be good and drink lots of tea and rest and not feel bad about taking an extra nap this afternoon. And hopefully I’ll be fully human again by Monday when I have to go back to work.

In happy news, fall has finally arrived. I finally feel confident enough that it’s not going to get so unbearably warm again that I took the window A/C unit out of my bedroom window this morning (my one chore for the weekend, I promise). I have windows open all over my house and it feels wonderful to let in all that fresh cool air. I love fall. It is, perhaps, my favorite season. The beautiful sunny days that you can walk around outside in a t-shirt but the evenings/nights are cool enough to need a jacket. That cool and crisp feel to the world. The kind of weather that you want to be outside because it’s so perfect, not too hot, not too cold, just perfect. It’s invigorating. I even put the quilt back on my bed, and it felt so good to snuggle up under it the past few nights.

Now, if you’ll excuse me, my tea and my TV are waiting for me downstairs with my dog.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in fall, life, sick, weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

