Monotony

Yes, more radio silence. But this past week has really been quite monotonous. Students are back. I’m in the midst of several projects, project proposals, and daily work. Most of my week was spent trying to come up with a way to normalize edits to records in a set across different sets so we wouldn’t have to re-write the script to edit each different set. The frustrating part is that try as I might, I had exceptions for just about every set of records. Dammit. Ah well, it’s the exceptions that make the rules, right? In good news, my work is no longer being reviewed by another librarian. I’ve been granted “independence.” If you ask my parents, they’ll tell you I’ve been independent since I was an infant…but that’s another story.

Most of my free time has been spent watching the Rugby World Cup. I’d post regular updates about it, but I realize that most of you probably don’t care, but for a moment please just pretend. It will all be over the end of October, I promise. Suffice to say, the US team sucks. Royally. We’re in last place in our pool and have zero points. The most exciting thing about this World Cup is that Argentina is still doing well. They’ve won all their games and are in first place in their pool! Go Argentina!! Per usual, Australia is doing excellently and is comfortably in first place in their pool as well, serving match after match of beat-downs to their opponents. In general, there’s been some good games, and some surprising upsets in matches.

Next weekend is the last weekend of the pool phase, so the matches this week and into the weekend will determine who moves forward. I can comfortably predict that the US team will NOT be moving on. This is not a surprise. If things keep going well for Argentina, they should make it to the quarterfinals, which would rock.

So that’s what’s up. Rugby. Work. More rugby. More work. Etc. Etc. Monotony. But in a good way. I’m certainly not complaining.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life, rugby, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

