Rugby World Cup update

Indulge me here, people. It is only for 2 months once every four years. And since we in the United States just don’t have non-collegiate national-level rugby (i.e. the equivalent of the NHL or NFL or any of the other national sports leagues) outside of the World Cup, I go a bit nuts during World Cup time. So just indulge me and pretend like you care.

The USA rugby team is, per usual, doing abysmally. Not as bad as some other teams (poor Japan got their butts kicked by Australia…I felt sorry for them as they had a distinct disadvantage to begin with just due to the physical size of their players), but still doing badly. Truly. Truly. Badly. At this point I would be surprised if they could bounce back and make it out of the pool phase. So I’ve given up on them. Watching them play is almost painful at times and I just can’t stand it.

Fortunately, there are plenty of other teams to cheer for. Obviously, as I stated before, I will be cheering for Australia. But this World Cup there is a new “dark horse” team: Argentina. They are continuing their winning streak, surprising everyone. Currently they’re first in their pool, but they aren’t slated to play this weekend, so we’ll see how the points stack up at the end of the matches between the other teams in their pool (remember, the pool phase is all about number of points earned for each match). Hopefully they’ll still be in first or second place.

In other surprises, England, the defending champions from 2003, got served. South Africa gave them a beat down, winning 36 to zero. That’s right, zero. England didn’t even manage to score a goal on a kick, much less a single try. Ouch.

This weekend promises some good matches, with Australia playing on Saturday. So I’ll be ticking things off my personal to-do list while watching games. And it’s supposed to rain on Saturday, which means I won’t have to feel guilty for spending the whole day inside with the TV on. Bonus!

[Caution, the following links may be offensive to some people] To get you all in the mood, here’s a couple of websites of rugby drinking songs: http://www.rugbysongs.net/ , MIT Women’s Rugby, the San Francisco Fog RFC (explains the song singing traditions/procedures at the after match party) and the Idaho Women’s RFC the Black Widows (used to play with them sometimes as a sub, and frequently played against them in college). And no, I’m not going to publish the words to my college women’s team song (the Motherruckers!!). Caution,the words to these songs are not exactly safe for work and are certainly not safe for small children. Everyone together now!: If I were the marrying kind… or, if you prefer, So…drink a little bit… (from the song known as Follow the Band)

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in rugby. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

