The mouse is still stirring

Dammit! Dammit! Dammit! The mouse I caught was definitely not acting alone. I’ve seen subsequent evidence that one of it’s family members is still infiltrating my kitchen.

So I bought live traps. You know…the kind that once they go in they can’t get out? I carefully baited them with peanut butter AND a piece of dog biscuit (since they seem to have a fondness for dog biscuits). I really don’t want to kill them.

It’s not working. I apparently have a clever mouse. Unlike its sibling that I trapped in the box of dog biscuits and exiled to the dumpster using a plastic bag, I can’t seem to catch and evict this one. [FYI, to assuage concerns that the mouse in the plastic bag suffocated, it was one of those grocery bags. The ones that always have those little holes in the bottom. So I’m assuming it escaped into the land of plenty of the dumpster.]

The mouse has explored the traps. Thoroughly. I’ve seen evidence that it has crawled over, around, and through the little tunnel that the opening is in since I put them out (a little over a week ago now). But it has not gone in the trap. The bait is still intact a week later (might need to freshen it come to think of it – or do mice like rancid peanut butter?).

Since I have a clever mouse that has thus far evaded capture in the live trap, I’m going to try another method: repel it. There’s these sonic repellent devices that emit a high frequency noise that’s not supposed to bother humans, canines, or felines, but rodents hate it. I’ve heard conflicting reports and read conflicting reviews that they’ve worked and that they’re worthless. I’m going to find this out for myself in the next week. Good think I don’t have pet gerbils anymore.

To Aussie’s credit, she’s actually shown some interest as of late. She’s not watching for them, but if she sees movement she’ll go after it. She cornered one the other day. Had it trapped behind the trash can in the kitchen. Unfortunately, when I walked into the kitchen to figure out what she was up to nosing around the trash can like that, she took her eye off of the mouse to look at me questioningly (“why are you yelling at me?”). The mouse took advantage of the lapse in observation and made a dash for freedom and I saw it run under the radiator in the kitchen and disappear. The accusatory look I got from my dog was priceless: “MOM, look what you did! Now I’ve LOST it!!” Aussie then spent the next 30 minutes lying on the kitchen floor peering under that radiator. A knock at the door pulled her away, otherwise I think she would have continued to lie there waiting for it to reappear.

The downside: it escaped. The upside: I might know where it’s getting in. There’s a crack right along the baseboard behind the radiator that I didn’t see before. But I see it now. Soon I will make that crack disappear. I live in an old home. There are lots of cracks and gaps due to settling and previous tenants. I spent a good hour the other day crawling along my baseboards with a flashlight looking for holes to plug (with steel wool…they hate it and can’t chew through it) and obviously I didn’t find them all. Unfortunately, steel wool isn’t going to work with the crack, it’s too long and oddly shaped.

So my plan is to journey once again to the hardware store and this time make two purchases: expanding insulating foam to try and plug the crack, and, one of those sonic repellent devices in case there are more holes/cracks that I missed.

Like I said, I don’t want to kill it. I just don’t want a mouse stirring in my house!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Aussie, dog, house, life, mouse. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

