Lunchtime entertainment

The weather today is finally not so dreary and damp, so my friend AH and I headed outside for lunch. There’s a set of benches far enough away from the library entrance without being a hike and kind off the main pathways that are surrounded by trees and some nice landscaping (ivy, Hosta plants, etc.). It’s very peaceful. Now and then you get accosted by birds or various bugs (like bees or big creepy spiders), but such is the price you pay to sit outside.

Today we were entertained by a squirrel. I’m fairly certain it was a rather young squirrel, and quite bold. At one point s/he jumped onto the back of the bench right behind AH, making us both jump! We watched the squirrel forage around, sometimes only inches away from us. This is obviously a squirrel that knows that people on these benches mean goodies. So we decided to be obliging. I had finished eating my peach (delicious sweet juicy fresh local peach!), leaving only the pit with a very small amount of peach flesh sticking to it.

I threw the squirrel my peach pit, figuring maybe it would force it to back off and not scare the bejesus out of AH by jumping on the bench behind her again. What resulted was one happy squirrel that went to town on that peach pit. It found it in the ivy, and sat there and cleaned all the peach flesh off of it. Next it scampered part way up the tree, and hung there by it’s hind legs, facing downwards, and continued to nibble on the pit!

Upsidedown squirrel


Now that’s squirrel talent. It never dropped the pit! Finally it scampered farther up the tree to a nice branch and sat there in the fork gnawing away until it decided it was done. It then dropped the peach pit and came down the tree and right back over to our bench looking for more. Um, sorry buddy, that’s it. AH threw her plum pit into the ivy, but it landed a bit too far away for the audacious little squirrel to find it.

Who knew cheeky squirrels and fruit pits could make for such great lunchtime entertainment!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

