Triumph! (maybe)

So last night I’m doing a load of laundry. I walk into the laundry room and what do I see but a little mouse tail sticking out of the hole in the box of dog treats.

You’ve got to be f*cking kidding me.

I “booby trapped” the area around the treats, hoping to catch the little sucker. Yes, the same box I discovered it had gotten into while I was away. I figured I’d use it as bait to catch the mouse knowing it would be back (I’m not dumb) before I threw it away. So I booby trapped it. Seriously. I set traps. I hated doing it, but I didn’t see an alternative since the dog is so not interested in helping me out and running the mouse out of the house. I set it up so the mouse had to go across the traps to get to the dog treats. Somehow, the little sucker got through the traps and into the box of treats. OK then, mouse. GAME ON.

It hadn’t moved when I walked in the room. The tail is still sticking out of the box. I don’t think it heard me over the dryer running or for all I know it gorged itself into a dog-biscuit induced coma. So I quietly back out of the room and grab a plastic grocery bag. Quickly, I tip the box of dog treats and cover the hole with the bag. YES! The mouse is now trapped in the box of treats. Next step. Remove the treats and the mouse from my house.

While walking through the house with the box of dog treats in one hand and the holding the plastic bag around the hole with the other, I feel the plastic bag suddenly get a bit heavy. Then I feel the bag move. The mouse had crawled out of the box of treats into the bag. Sh*t. Must. Get. Outside. NOW. I get out the door, drop the box of treats and quickly knot the plastic bag shut, effectively trapping the mouse in the bag. W00T! Go me! The mouse is now out of my house.

I then dump the treats into another bag and fold up the cardboard box for recycling. On Aussie’s and my evening walk, I deposit both the bag of treats and the mouse (still trapped in the plastic bag) in the big dumpster at the end of the block, far far away from my house. I figure even if it escapes (which it might), it hopefully won’t find it’s way back to and into my house again. Besides, with the bounty available in a dumpster, why would it want to?

So the score so far:
Shana: 1 Mouse: 0

Once we got home, I crawled all along my baseboards with a flashlight looking for holes. I only found one behind a radiator that I hadn’t plugged up before. Please say a prayer that I’ve now found and plugged them all so I don’t have to deal with this again. And say another prayer that it was the only mouse and not just one member of a family of mice.

Frankly I am much relieved I managed to trap it and remove it alive. I didn’t want to kill it. I just didn’t want to share my house with a mouse.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in house, life, mouse. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Triumph! (maybe)

  1. katia says:

    um, yeah. having lived with many a mouse in my days living in west philly I have come to this conclusion: mice come in multiples, the do not act alone. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

