Taking a day off

I’m taking Friday off. It’s been a week of questions and more questions and yet still more questions as everyone starts using the “new” software full time. New workflows. New procedures. It’s quite the shift at work. Which means I’ve been very busy answering all those questions. The past month at work has been very very full with training and this migration to the “new” software. I’ve done a lot of teaching and even more talking.

I need this day off.

CH invited me (and my dog) to visit him in NYC for the weekend. So not only am I taking Friday off, I’m leaving town. I’m so looking forward to this weekend. I know we’ll go out at least one night I’m there for some dancing, which I really need to help me de-stress right now. Dancing is my favorite way to relax. The stress just melts away.

And bonus!, on Friday I’m having lunch with a good friend I haven’t seen in years. AP happens to be in NYC for the summer so we’re taking advantage of the opportunity to reconnect. She and I have known each other since high school. [Hm…August seems to be the month for me to reconnect with “long lost” friends…I wonder who’s next.]

I don’t anticipate getting a lot of sleep (not that I’ve gotten a whole lot in the past month anyway), but I do anticipate lots of fun, some excellent food and lots of time with good friends. That’s the best recipe in the world for relaxation.

And HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my friend Catachresis today!!!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in friendship, New York City, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking a day off

  1. katia says:

    Darn! I came by work to give you a bunch of cherry tomatoes and you weren’t there. sniff. I’ll just have to try again next week… Have a good weekend! K

  2. Shana says:

    Bummer! We need to get together when I get back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

