Proof that I’m busy

Alternately titled: Proof that I’m a dork

I realize there’s been a lack of regular posts lately. Well, I’ve been a bit busy. Still am. But I offer up the following story as proof that I really am that busy.

I am a cataloger. A continuing resources and electronic resources cataloger to be specific. I am extremely detail oriented by nature. I always have been. Fortunately, this trait is beneficial in cataloging. So my career choice is a very natural fit. What you need to take away from this paragraph: Shana = detail oriented. Little things don’t usually slip through the cracks.

As you all know, we’re undergoing a forced software migration. Two big services are merging, and one of them is being folded into the other. Unfortunately, my library was part of the service being absorbed, so we’re migrating to the “other” service whether we like it or not. I have lots of experience with this other service, so I’ve been doing a lot of training to help facilitate this change. This is not news.

In June at the big ALA Annual Conference, we learned of the deadlines. The service being absorbed will be going away (“retired”) the end of August. But, as of the end of July, while it will be there, nothing new will be added to it, rendering it pretty much useless for anything but searching legacy data. That means that as of August 1st, everyone in my library has to be using the “new other” software full time. This migration to the “other” software can’t be completed until everyone upgrades to the new version, 2.0, of said software. Version 2.0 included some major changes, so it was decided that “orientation” sessions highlighting those changes needed to happen before everyone downloaded the update and started using it. It took me a few weeks to put together handouts, and I split the sessions over two weeks in the hope of accommodating various vacation schedules (it is, after all, the middle of summer).

So last week when I began the sessions I put a request into the IT department for them to put together the webpage for the software update. This is a standard “loader” webpage with instructions, and a link to the file they need (unzipped and ready to use), that is used for any software update/download at my library. No big deal. I asked that they put together the loader, but hey, told them they’ve got time because I don’t want it sent out until AFTER I finished the version 2.0 orientation sessions (which I did on Wednesday). I even included a date in my message that they should send out the email to the staff with a link to the webpage with the download instructions.

I SENT THE WRONG DATE.

I looked at my message again today and panicked. Instead of Friday JULY 27th as the date in my message, I put Friday AUGUST 27th. I put the MONTH in wrong. This is a rather large problem, given that the staff need the software update by next Wednesday, not a month from now. So I sent a message apologizing profusely and asking that they put together the loader ASAP (please, pretty please, with sugar on top??). I got a reply, a very gracious reply, telling me they should be able to have something ready by tomorrow morning.

*whimper*

And at the same time, I had to send another message to IT asking them to install the software on the 17 machines in the electronic classroom so I can do some hands on training sessions next week (Wed. and Thurs.).

*sigh*

I either need more sleep or a nice stiff drink…I’m not sure which one is more appealing at the moment.

*headdesk*

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in embarrassment, work. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Proof that I’m busy

  1. Ahna says:

    As a fellow librarian, I just had to stop by and say hi. We both know good old Marketing student Steve in California.

Leave a Reply

