On our daily walk

Every day Aussie and I walk around the neighborhood. At least one block, sometimes more. There’s always a few random things seen or heard, but in the past week there’s been more than usual. Like a LOT more than usual.

Seen over the weekend by the curb: a can of Colt 45 with a drinking straw in it. That one made me wish I had my camera with me.

Overheard today as it was shouted across the street: “I just spilled butter all over my toes!”

I’ve also received multiple offers to either buy my dog or breed her. People ask me about her all the time, but the offers to buy and/or breed her are a new thing. All offers are politely declined (duh!).

I’ve had several offers for dates, many questions if I’m single and if I live around here, and a litany of requests to “get to know me better.” Most of them have come from guys in their cars. And they don’t get out, instead shouting at me through an open window, a rather common activity in my neighborhood in general. I know my neighbors, and they know me, so these are people that are not from the neighborhood. I answer these questions all the same…”I’m around” and refuse to give any info beyond my first name (and only when they introduce themselves first). Do not worry, I am not stupid, people.

I guess this should bother me more than it does, but random people have always asked me for directions or general information (I seem to have an invisible tattoo on my forehead that says “Information here” and I appear non-threatening), so I don’t think too much about strangers talking to me and I can be polite and keep my distance at the same time. I also have a dog that would rip their throat out if they tried to hurt me, so that helps.

Today someone even got out of his car and gave me his phone number. He backed away a bit as Aussie put herself between us and eyed him warily (good dog!). Needless to say, I’m going to, um, “lose” that slip of paper right quick. Thanks, I’m flattered, really, but I don’t think so.

Last night I was asked if I wanted to go out roller skating (no joke). Points for creativity on that one.

Now I know that a white girl in my neighborhood is a bit of an anomaly, but I really think the heat is getting to people.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in neighborhood, random. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

