Playing catch up

I’m still playing catch up with my life. This post is an attempt at filling you all in on what’s been happening.

This past week was the first full five day work week I’ve had in almost a month. And it was busy. And this next week will be just as busy. Lots of projects, lots of training. I have deadlines looming, and just don’t seem to have enough hours in the day to get everything done. But, I’m drawing the line at bringing work home…for now.

We had our third work happy hour this past Friday. Yes, Friday the 13th. For a day that’s supposed to be bad luck, we had excellent luck and set a new record with the number of people in attendance despite summer vacations and various conferences. We’ve collectively decided that we’re going to hold off and do the next one in September.

I did make a decision regarding the RSVP for my friend’s wedding. I’m RSVPing for one. I’m goin’ in alone, people. It should be fun, as I’m fairly certain that many of the people in attendance will be people I haven’t seen since I was about 10 or 11 years old. These are people I went to elementary school with, but then we moved away to another state right before 6th grade, so I lost touch with many of them. So the wedding will not only be a joyous occasion because I get to see the person I’ve been friends with the longest get married to a great guy, it will also be a reunion of sorts. Watch for the report after the wedding on August 4th.

I’m starting to get out more and see more of Philly, and starting to figure out what activities and area groups I want to get involved in. I’m loving the area farmers markets! I’m also thinking I’m ready to try dating again. This time, however, I think I’ll try something other than online. I think I’ll go the “old fashioned” route and meet people through friends and various activities. Start by meeting people face to face rather than profile to profile. We’ll see what happens.

Besides the general insanity that is work this summer, life is pretty good. The dog is happy and healthy, and we’re surviving the various heat waves just fine. What more can I ask for?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

