Weekend visitor!

I’m having company this weekend. My friend CH is visiting. Have I mentioned before how much I love company? It’s such a wonderful excuse to get out and do things that you wouldn’t normally do. You get to play tourist in your own city.

We don’t have any plans for the weekend as of yet. Much of what we do (or don’t do) will depend on the weather. If it’s uncomfortably hot and sunny out (i.e. typical Philly summer day), I doubt we will go wander around the Independence National Historical Park area, which has very little shade and lots of open space. Also not a good plan if it’s raining.

But there are plenty of museums and other such things. There’s always the giant heart at the Franklin Institute. And there’s a film festival this weekend. Or one of many farmers markets scattered around the city to wander through. And parks to explore. This is why I love living in a city, there’s almost always something going on and there’s plenty of things to do.

And company is the perfect excuse for another visit to the Naked Chocolate Cafe! See, CH is a foodie like I am. He loves to try new food as much as I do, whether that be at a restaurant or cooking it yourself. My talk of chocolate orgasms in your mouth has convinced him that we need to go to Naked Chocolate so he can experience it for himself. So I can guarantee the weekend will include chocolate. And probably at least one new restaurant I want to try (Monk’s Cafe is on my list).

Beyond food, well, we’re just going to relax and see where the mood takes us. I think that’s the best plan of all.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, Philly, things to do, visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend visitor!

  1. katia says:

    Have fun! Enjoy a Lambic’s at Monk’s for me, please. And their mussels are good.

Leave a Reply

