Cool by association

My parents are divorced. They have been for quite sometime now. They also live in another country, Australia (I’ll mention it from time to time). Over 10 years ago, they moved there married, and after being there for a few years, filed for divorce. They both subsequently met native Australians, and decided to stay. So my parents are permanently ex-pats now. They are both happy in their respective relationships. But it’s a very odd thing to be in your mid-20s and suddenly end up with step-siblings. All of a sudden I had 2 new step-sisters from my mom’s new partner, and 4 step-brothers from my dad’s wife (note: brothers are a new thing for my sister and me). And it works. Everybody’s happy. But I digress.

This came to mind this morning because my mom’s partner is a professor emeritus of religion at a major university. He has a new book out on demonic possession. And in the course of my daily work here at the library with serials, I came across a review of that new book in a new journal title we subscribed to recently.

How perfectly random, yet so incredibly awesome to look at this academic journal, and realize I KNOW one of the big name authors who’s books are being reviewed.

Guess that means I’m cool by association. Can I put that on my business card?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in books, family, random. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool by association

  1. Catechresis says:

    Don’t you read the news? You’re cool just because you are a LIBRARIAN!! And knowing big-name academic authors probably just enhances your appeal. =)

  2. Shana says:

    Oh yeah. I forgot. Because I’m young and I have tattoos and I drink and hang out at bars that makes me a “hipster” librarian. Yeah. Riiiggghhht.So can I put “cool by association” AND “hipster librarian” on my business card??

Leave a Reply

