Fireworks!

Having a holiday in the middle of the week is just a big tease. You’re left feeling like it’s Monday all over again the next day AND you’re left wondering what happened to the other day of your weekend. But I digress. This is not the topic of this post.

We almost didn’t have fireworks in Philly for the 4th of July. It started raining in the early evening, and we’re not talking about light sprinkles, but serious rain. The kind of rain that cancels fireworks displays. In fact, they told people waiting that there wouldn’t be a show and to go home before 11pm. I guess they changed their minds when there was a break in the rain.

I watched the fireworks display in my pajamas while sitting in my bedroom window. [FYI, sitting on a radiator (it’s in front of that window) for any length of time is just not comfortable.] I heard fire and police sirens in the background for the entire show, but such is life when people start playing with explosives (insert obligatory “it’s all fun and games until somebody loses a X” statement).

Other than the discomfort of the radiator, I had an excellent seat to enjoy the fireworks. My view was pretty much unobstructed, with the exception of a few telephone poles and tips of rooftops. Having them start after 11:15pm is a bit late, and made this morning a bit more harsh than it already was since it already feels like another Monday, but the show itself was quite good. I admit I’m still partial to the shows my sister does (and yes, she’s certified to work with pyrotechnics, and yes, she’s damn good), but I still enjoyed Philly’s fireworks.

Almost immediately after the fireworks ended, the rain started again. Timing is everything. For me, the timing was awesome. Not only did I see fireworks to celebrate the 4th of July, I had the sound of rain to lull me to sleep afterwards.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in 4th of July, holiday, Philly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

