Absentmindedness

Today was one of those days that I left the house more than once. I had to keep going back to get things I had forgotten. I leave the house, with my bike, my bag, my change of clothes, etc., lock the door, all ready to go, and realized I forgot my lunch. So I unlock the door (confusing the dog), retrieve my lunch, and leave the house a second time.

This time I got a good 3 blocks away on my bike before I realized something was missing. Something didn’t feel right.

I had forgotten my helmet. Sh*t.

So I turned around and went back the 3 blocks to retrieve it (and confusing the dog even more), because riding without a helmet on city streets is just plain idiotic. I also retrieved my wallet, which I need to not only get into the building at work, but to get the necessary cup of coffee to become human again. Being the thinker that I am, I had put the wallet IN the helmet last night so I wouldn’t forget it. Yeah.

Clever, Shana. Clever. Good thinking.

*headdesk*

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life, random. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Absentmindedness

  1. Catechresis says:

    Hey– at least you didn’t have to email someone to call you so you could find your cell phone this morning! (headdesk) =)

Leave a Reply

