ALA Annual 2007: day 0, arrival

So I ended up in the same train car as several of my colleagues. How random. The train was as packed as our schedules, so I may not see them again until we’re all back in the same building next week.

I had no problem getting from Union Station to my hotel on the Metro. I heart DC’s public transit system. I still had my Metro card from CONSER, all charged up and ready to go. I arrived at the hotel to find that my roommate, SM (friend who visited me in Philly not to long ago, former colleague), was already there. We chatted for a bit, catching up on our gossip and our recent trips (she survived a trip to a place that can only be described as Las Vegas designed by Ned Flanders), until we realized we were quite hungry.

We both had tourist guides with us (yay for geeky librarians being prepared) and we found a Thai place that the book boasted had the best pad thai in the city. Worth investigating. We left the hotel and walked into a rainstorm, a pretty normal summer-in-DC fast moving downpour, dashing from storefront awning to storefront awning for the 10 block walk. We found Thai Kingdom, and decided it looked good. We were not disappointed.

Yummy. SM decided to sample the pad thai, and said it was one of the better ones she’s had. I thoroughly enjoyed my vegetable red curry, even if it was a bit on the oily side. After eating way too much food, we headed out to try and find other colleagues. It took a bit, but we did find them, after asking a valet where the restaurant was (an excellent example of using the resources available to us!). Having just stuffed ourselves, we sat for a bit while everyone else ate and chatted.

Eventually we all headed out, SM and other back to various hotels, and myself, well, Kramerbooks had a pint or two with my name on it. And my friends EM and MP were there holding down the fort and saving a barstool for me. We had an excellent time, complete with leaving random voice mails for various friends (sorry, JS, you do get some doozies, don’t you?) that weren’t in town yet or couldn’t make it to ALA this year. Just because that’s how we roll.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in ALA, conferences, drinks, food, Washington DC. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

