NASIG 2007: day 4

Sunday, June 3rd, 2007

Last day. Going to bed earlier was a good thing, and I did make the final Vision Session. The presenter, Daniel Chudnov, talked about using technology to integrate library services with social software to make our services and resources more accessible. It was very interesting, and he approached it from the point of view of if everyone implements something small, it can cascade and work together. And what he was suggestion as options were all very practical and scalable. Truly a “vision” session as he has a very clear vision of what library services can be and how to begin to achieve that future.

I only attended one session on Sunday, specifically about serials cataloging. It reviewed a specific project done at another library on outsourcing a project and a review of its successes and failures. Interesting stuff, but it really was a report rather than ideas.

These last sessions were followed by the Conference Closing. By now the attendees are thinning out, with some people having to leave early to catch their planes. We were all leaving at different times, some of us late on Sunday afternoon and a few of us on Monday morning (like myself). Of those of us that were left, a few had a post-conference meeting for the NASIG Board, so B, my mentee EL, LH, and I headed out for lunch. B and I decided to split the cost of a car for 24 hours, figuring we could drive around on Sunday and then use it to get to the airport in the morning.

The four of us headed out in search of something we just don’t have where we each live: Waffle House. I’m not joking. We were feeling the need for some WaHo. It’s the ultimate in diner food and the waffles really are good. We did find it, but frankly, this was not one of our better WaHo experiences. Their cook was having issues and managed to screw up not one, not two, but all four of our hash brown orders AND forgot LH’s bacon [proprietary conference joke reference: “I’m a vegetarian except for bacon” or, if you prefer, “bacon goes with everything”]. And I think our waitress was, um, not the brightest crayon in the box, but she was very nice and apologetic about the issues with the cook. Afterwards, we drove through Sonic for cherry limeades (I miss Sonic!!!), and that cheered us all up.

Unfortunately, this was followed by having to drop EL off at the airport. We all got a bit goofy with the picture snapping, but we got some good photos out of it (see my Flickr account for the pics). Hopefully we’ll see her again next year, and maybe even sooner if I go visit my PCOR (previous city of residence). B and I dropped LH back at the hotel to do some work she had to do on a presentation, and we headed over to the Louisville Slugger Museum and Factory.

We made it just in time for the last tour of the day. Since it was Sunday, the bats were not in production, but it was still neat to see. And, bonus!, we were the only two on that tour, so we got a nice personalized version. At the end of the tour you even get a free mini-bat. It was so worth the admission price, and I recommend it to anyone that likes baseball even a little bit. Additionally, the Museum has an exhibit right now called Peanuts at Bat, all about the baseball theme in Charles M. Schultz’s comic strips. It was really cool. They had lots of the strips up on the wall, along with various toys and products related to the comic like the Snoopy dolls and Peanuts lunch box and banners. So much fun to look at! And of course, there were random goofy photos. B and I had fun acting like dorks for a bit.

We headed back to the hotel for some rest and to plan dinner. We met up with our friend AC, and headed out for more barbecue. Unfortunately, it was not our night, nor, apparently, our weekend for choosing restaurants. The place was closed. We were not the only one that was misled, as we pulled up there was a guy pulling on the door and looking confused and a bit cross about the place being closed.

Since we had the car, we decided to drive around for a bit. We happened across a Krispy Kreme place right as the “HOT” sign lit up, so we just had to stop for doughnuts. Again, not something we really have where we each live, but something we all enjoyed in PCORs. After our sugary appetizer, we drove around a bit more. Many places were closed, and we never did find a barbecue place. We ended up at Steak n’ Shake for dinner. Not that this was disappointing. Like WaHo, it’s something we all enjoy, but is a regional chain that none of us have where we live now. All I have to say is cheese fries and patty melts. Yummy. And milkshakes for dessert to go. After all this good food all weekend I’ll be eating salad for the next week.

I always get so much out of this conference, both professionally and personally. I can’t imagine not attending, and this year was no different. I learned a lot, gained lots of information to take with me and actually use, and played just as hard as always. Camp for serialists, indeed.

“This one time, at NASIG _[insert story here]_ “

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in conferences, food, Louisville, NASIG, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

