NASIG 2007: day 0, arrival

Much like I did with CONSER, I will now be playing catch up with my posts about NASIG. Brace yourself for 5 posts in quick succession about the conference. Enjoy.

Wednesday, May 30th, 2007

Travel day. This time I had to fly. I took the dog to the kennel on Tuesday evening, and got up super early on Wednesday to catch the bus and then the train to the airport (much much cheaper than parking). I didn’t have coffee before I left the house, as juggling a coffee cup, luggage and my carry on bag would not have been pretty. I figured I’d get some at the airport. I arrived at the airport in plenty of time, breezed through check in and security (a rarity for me, I assure you) and then discovered something awful. NO REAL COFFEE past security in that particular terminal. Unless you count non-McDonald’s fast food coffee as real coffee, there was no coffee to be had. The food court was next to non-existent. Ugh. I did buy a cup, but I couldn’t drink it; it was just too terrible tasting. Fortunately, we boarded shortly and I slept all the way to my connection in Detroit. In Detroit, I had ample time to find real coffee, and options were plentiful. Life became instantly better, I became human again.

After arriving in Louisville, I took the bus to the hotel. I love taking public transportation when I travel. It gives me the opportunity to really see the city, and not just the “touristy” parts of it. You see neighborhoods, both good and bad, office buildings, warehouses, factories, all the stuff that isn’t in the downtown or around your hotel and convention center. It’s a great way to get a feel for things.

My roommate for the conference, my friend B (remember her from CONSER? yeah, we travel well together), arrived not too long after I did and we went in search of food. We walked up the street, and ended up in an area called 4th Street Live. It’s an outdoor pedestrian area full of restaurants, a small mall area, and bars. We got carded going in and had a bracelet put on our wrists to mark us as part of the over-21 crowd. Apparently open containers are allowed in the pedestrian mall area. Who knew. We picked a place called The Pub. It’s a chain, but anyplace that has something called the Beer Bible is OK by us. We had excellent beers and fried pickles (YUM!) for an appetizer. I had their Shepherd’s Pie for dinner and it was delicious. A fancy schmancy version with beef and lamb and chive potatoes.

Now, one thing you need to know about B and I is that we are hockey nuts. And it’s the Stanley Cup Finals right now. She’s a Buffalo Sabres fan (but I like her anyway). I was raised on the Detroit Red Wings. Both our teams are out of the quest, and fortunately we’re both cheering for the same team, the Ottawa Senators. The Anaheim Ducks are wrong for many reasons: it’s an expansion team in southern California AND the franchise used to be owned by Disney. That’s just wrong (and if you’re a Ducks fan, I’m not apologizing if you’re offended, you’ll just have to deal with it). So after eating, we had our own quest: to find a place we could see the game (only broadcast on satellite). We ended up at Champion’s Sports Bar. Shortly after we arrived, our friends AC and JS joined us. Neither one of them are hockey fans, but they were amused watching us watch the game and periodically curse at the screen. Unfortunately, Ottawa lost. There was more cursing.

After the game was over, we sat and chatted for a bit, catching up with each others lives, and then went to another bar. What you need to remember about librarians, is that while we work very very hard, we also play hard. Conferences can be like camp (cue American Pie movie reference: “this one time, at NASIG…”). So while we attend sessions and learn a lot during the day, we like to go out and have a good time. We got back to the hotel rather late, and all of us crashed out, needing to rest up for the start of the conference on Thursday afternoon.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in conferences, food, Louisville, NASIG. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

