Embarrassing moments at work

Ever have one of those embarrassing moments? Those moments that you hope and pray no one sees but you’re sure someone did? I had one yesterday.

We have double glass doors into the tech services area of my library. They have locks at the bottom and are locked during non-business hours. One of the doors has a faulty lock that randomly slips and locks itself. So yesterday, I went to push the door open and walk through. But it had locked itself so it didn’t move. But I kept moving. So I walked into the door. Fabulous. And I can’t say it felt all that good either. Glass is hard. So is my head. Bashing two hard objects together is not a happy thing. Especially for the object that has nerve endings (that would be me, by the way).

Being the nice colleague that I am, I told my boss that the door had locked itself again (not everyone has a key, I don’t, but he does) and could he please unlock it before someone gets hurt (other than myself). So he unlocked it. And he also felt it prudent to tell the building manager that I had found out that it had locked itself again and could he please get that fixed. And told the building manager how I found out: “Shana walked into the door.” Gee thanks for sharing that with him.

Now the building manager is worried about my ability to walk around the library without hurting myself. And feels the need to remind me that I’m a dork every time he sees me by asking me if I’ve walked into anything else recently or if I’ve fallen off my bike (which hasn’t happened, by the way). Um, no.
I’m not normally a klutz…only when there are witnesses. Really, I’m OK…mostly. Just my pride is wounded…just my pride. And I have very precious little pride left to wound.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in embarrassment, life, work. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Embarrassing moments at work

  1. Catechresis says:

    hehehe… I still catch my shoulders in doorways because I don’t think of myself as being adult-sized. …might explain my tendency to draw with crayons and drool, too…

  2. Keith says:

    We have doors that do that in my library too! Don’t you just HATE that 🙂

  3. Shana says:

    The lock is “on the list” to be fixed. It’s been on the list for at least 6 months now, so I’m not holding my breath.I just hope the next time there aren’t any witnesses…

Leave a Reply

