Primary election day

Today is the primary election in Philadelphia. While this is a primary, in terms of our mayor, it’s actually more important than election day. Generally, whomever wins the Democratic primary for mayor becomes mayor of Philly. OK then, I guess I better vote.

I registered to vote back in March when I got my Pennsylvania drivers license. It makes it so simple and easy when you can do both at the same time, so there’s really no excuse NOT to be a registered voter. My certificate of voter registration arrived in the mail a few weeks ago, which I promptly signed and filed away in a safe place. I consider the right to vote a big deal. I remember being very angry as a child being told that I couldn’t vote and arguing with my parents about it. And I was only around 11 years old. Still, true to form for my parents, I was encouraged to decide who I wanted to vote for and why, and I had to have a good reason. I don’t believe they ever told me who they voted for. Not once. Who you vote for is a private thing and it shouldn’t matter who everyone else votes for if you’ve thought about it and made your decision on your own. It’s your right and duty to vote, but who’s name you select from the ballot is your own business. One of the benefits of living in a “free” society.

Besides, I’m of the school that if you don’t participate, you don’t have the right to complain about the outcome.

So I’m off to vote. I’ve done my research, and decided which candidates I like. As for who they are, well, I’m not going to tell you. Go read the ample amount of information available about the candidates running and decide for yourself. And think before you vote.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in elections, Philly, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

