CONSER 2007: day 3

Friday, May 4th, 2007

Last day. Today was all CONSER, but it was also a short day, ending a bit early (3pm instead of 5pm) to allow for people to get out and sightsee if they so desire.

Our morning consisted of more discussion of the CONSER Standard Record, naturally, followed by a rehashing of an old debate on single versus separate records for different formats, but with a new twist: digital archival copies of the works. After going in circles for a good hour, we decided to not change our policy, and while the single record format is allowed, CONSER policy recommends separate records. That’s our policy and for now we’re stickin’ to it.

I’m not sure all of the CONSER Standard Record issues have been resolved, but I’m not sure they all can be just yet. We voted to go ahead and implement the new and slimmed-down record as of June 1st, and basically see what happens. There are a few things that have to be worked out before implementation (software issues), but we’re moving forward.

Since it was a short day, we went to the LC cafeteria for lunch. It’s a pretty nice cafeteria, with salad bars, sandwich bars and hot dish options. Plenty of options. So we got our trays and sat with a bunch of other CONSER folks for a very nice relaxing lunch. After lunch it was back to the meeting room for some more discussion, member updates and a wrap up. Towards the end of the meeting, the previous CONSER Coordinator walked in for a visit. Shortly after her arrival, we adjourned, this time for some social time at Bullfeathers.

It’s amazing what you learn about your colleagues when you just sit an chat. We learned that our current CONSER Coordinator is a pretty damn good blues guitarist on the side, and he has posted several videos on YouTube. You can check him out here. Of course, as a cataloger, he was careful to tag his videos properly so they would be findable. We’re all about the findability of items. Our purpose is to make things findable to the user, and the way we tag things in our personal lives is no exception. This admission of his and his desire to tag things correctly led to an interesting commentary about how librarians tag things versus how catalogers tag things versus how a non-librarian tags things. Yes, we really are all geeks. And that’s “Ms. Library Geek” to you, thankyouverymuch.

After some socializing, B and I set out to find a gift for her cat sitter. Apparently her cat sitter is a Republican and a HUGE fan of Ronald Reagan. We decided a good place to start would be the Library of Congress gift shop in the Jefferson Building. We hit the jackpot. A talking Ronnie doll. No joke. They had a whole collection of talking president dolls. Clinton, Reagan, both Bushes, and I think I even saw Carter and Nixon in there. The perfect gift. We left the Capitol Hill area with our quarry, and headed back over to the Firehook Bakery & Coffee House for coffee and a cookie (see, I told you I saw another cookie in my future!). Not only do they make really good cookies, they make really good coffee, so I bought a bag of beans. I can’t wait to try them (I have to finish the last of my other beans first, don’t want to mix different beans and roasts after all).

Post coffee and yummy cookie, we retrieved our bags from the b&b (I’ll definitely stay there again) and headed for Union Station to catch the Amtrak back to Philly. B’s garment bag once again attempted to hang her when she went through the METRO turnstiles. We made it to Union Station with time to spare, and just sat and relaxed a bit. Once on the train, B and I managed to get one of the “foursome” setups, with two sets of seats facing each other, which gave us a bit more space to stretch out. Being Friday night, the train was full, but not so full that we had to share. Train rides do produce some interesting people. At the first stop a girl got on carrying a suitcase and a cage. A rodent cage. The rodent, however, was not in the cage, but all it’s bedding/food/dishes were. The rodent was in a little rodent carrier that looked kind of like a purse. I’m guessing it was a guinea pig, but I didn’t ask.

We arrived in Philly exhausted and hungry, and caught a cab back to my place. Once there, we dropped our stuff and headed back out in search of cheesesteaks. Specifically Abner’s Cheesesteaks. We ordered three: one for there to split, and two to go (one for each of us). Oh, and an order of cheese fries and two Smithwick’s beers. We learned on our first trip that half of an Abner’s cheesesteak with all the fixins is more than plenty. That cheesesteak I took home was lunch on both Saturday and Sunday. Which was good, since I had no food in the house and desperately needed to go grocery shopping (remedied on Sunday afternoon once I had some energy). After our very very late dinner (it was after 11:00PM), we headed back to the house and crashed out. Unfortunately, B had to head out of town by mid morning, but we’ll see each other again soon, in Louisville, KY for NASIG. And conference season continues!

Needless to say, after 3 days of meetings, no access to e-mail except in the evenings (when I was too exhausted to do anything but check for urgent/disaster type messages), I picked up the dog from the kennel on Saturday morning after B left and we (the dog and I) slept most of the rest of the day. And I’m still catching up on my e-mail both at home and at work.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in conferences, CONSER, food, Washington DC, work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

