What is up with the weather?

This is not supposed to be a blog about weather. Yet, the screwy winter we’ve had here in Philly has vexed me week after week.

I was all set to blog about the window air conditioner I got via Freecycle, and the nor easter blows in. So here I am, with a nice new-to-me air conditioner sitting on my floor waiting to be installed in my bedroom window in anticipation of the sultry Philly summers, and horizontal snow outside my window this morning. Yes, HORIZONTAL snow. I’m not joking. And, yet again, I have at least an inch of slushy snow on my car.

Sigh. I just put away my scarf and hat last week. This morning I nearly pulled them out again and really should have. My face was so cold by the time I made it to the bus stop I couldn’t feel my nose. My staff person at work told me this morning she bowed to the weather and pulled out her heavy winter coat again. It’s mid-April. This is wrong. Today is the Boston Marathon and the organizers are saying that in 30 years they’ve never seen weather like this. I can’t imagine running against the wind (with gusts to between 30 and 50 miles per hour!) and rain/snow we’ve got here in the Northeast right now.

[I can’t imagine running a marathon, period, but with weather like this I really can’t imagine voluntarily spending hours running into the wind with snow/rain hitting you in the face and chest. No thank you, I’ll pass.]

And it just seems silly for me to be so excited about an air conditioner. But I am. Because I know come July, I’ll be very very happy to have it. As will my dog. I have ceiling fans in all my rooms, but they can only do so much when the humidity sets in, which I know it will (despite the nor easter we’ve got right now). Being able to cool ONE room in the house so my dog doesn’t get heat stroke and I can get sleep is priceless. So finding an air conditioner via Freecycle is like a gift from heaven. It may be old, but it was free, and it works. All I had to do was go pick it up. I can do that. I’ll give it a good cleaning and we’ll be good to go when summer arrives. What more can I ask for?

Besides spring. I’d really like it to be spring.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in snow, weather, winter. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

