Easter basket in a box

I arrived home today to a box on my porch. A distinctive box. One that indicated that it came from Australia. Woot! Goodies!

My mom sent me Easter candy. Essentially, it’s an Easter basket in a box. I love you, Mom! You rock!

In addition to a rockin’ t-shirt from the XXXX Brewery (Queensland beer!), the package was filled with lots and lots of chocolate. The food of the gods. Several varieties of Tim Tams (which are heavenly, and I require regular shipments to prevent Tim Tam withdrawal). Caramel filled chocolate eggs. Candy coated milk chocolate eggs. A dark chocolate egg with dark chocolate coated candied ginger in it, which is my current “I just can’t get enough” variety of chocolate.

And the annual chocolate Easter Bilby.
Yes, a bilby. NOT an Easter bunny. Because, in Australia, rabbits are a pest. They have no natural predators. Which means they flourish, and have become a serious pain in the rear for ranchers, devastating crops and grazing lands. So they don’t have an Easter Bunny. They use Easter instead to draw attention to a native animal, the bilby. And the Darrell Lea company makes Easter Bilbies in milk chocolate, dark chocolate and white chocolate.

Not one chocolate Easter bilby has arrived intact. Not one. My mom’s been doing this for a good 10 years now, and every bilby arrives in pieces. Apparently the turbulence on the flight is just too much for their delicate sensibilities. Fortunately, the chocolate still tastes just as good.

Also included was the amazing Flat Pack Chocolate Easter Egg from Bloomsberry & Co. Some assembly required! And the package even provides instructions…but you have to provide your own egg-shaped mould. They also provide a disclaimer that reads:

IMPORTANT NOTICE: The makers of the amazing Flat Pack Chocolate Easter Egg offer no warranty either explicitly or implied as to the success of your endeavors when attempting to assemble this process. As you can imagine, working with chocolate is not east and requires a high level of skill. Therefore your chances of completing the task to a satisfactory standard are, in a word, slim. We’ve never managed it.

But the chocolate it is made of all fair trade ingredients. Frankly, I’m not going to bother to take the time to try to make the egg. Too much work. I’m just gonna eat the chocolate.

Excuse me, I have to go stuff my face with Easter chocolate goodness now.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in chocolate, Easter, food, gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

