My dog the white bullet

The weather is gorgeous. It’s in the mid-70s, sunny, nice breeze. Perfect for sitting on the porch and enjoying a beverage. So that’s what my dog and I did. After trimming her nails and giving her a good brush (time to shed that winter coat…ye GODS why aren’t you BALD??), Aussie and I sat down on the steps to watch the neighborhood kids run/bike/roll up and down the street. And I had my beverage in a nice little cooler sleeve so it didn’t get warm. I even brought out an old dog bed so Aussie didn’t have to lay on the cement.

So we were enjoying ourselves, our feet and her nose in the sun, when suddenly Aussie became a white bullet that shot past my shoulder and off the porch down the steps to the sidewalk at the speed of light. My first thought: “where’s the damn cat??!” followed closely by “squirrel??!” and a very loud verbal “SHIT!!”

It wasn’t a cat. Nor was it a squirrel.

It was a chihuahua. A chihuahua being walked by a very large (maybe 6 feet tall) athletic looking man. Who proceeded to scoop his chihuahua up to protect it from my white bullet of a freak dog who’s tail was now wagging faster than reality allows. The very nice yet very large athletic man was afraid Aussie was going to eat his chihuahua.

Aussie just wanted to make friends. I can convince her to ignore the cats (street cats who would kick her ass given half a chance) and even stay put for the squirrels, but not for another dog who could potentially be her friend. Given the remote possibility of making friends with another dog Aussie ignores all commands and will become a white bullet flying over my shoulder. My dog the social butterfly.

And all of this apparently occurred for the amusement of my neighbors. Who laughed heartily as I dragged Aussie back onto the porch and gave her a good lecture. Because anyone that knows my dog knows that the only thing you can do is reason with her. She doesn’t respond to “commands” unless they are in complete sentences. No joke. I think my neighbors are now convinced I’m quite possibly insane.

I’m so glad my dog and I can be a source of entertainment for the neighborhood.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in Aussie, dog. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

