Day off

I took a day off from the world today. I didn’t talk to anyone, see anyone, or interact with the outside world. I didn’t even read my e-mail messages or send an e-mail until the very end of the day. The only creature I talked to was Aussie.

You know what, I really needed it.

I’ve been running full throttle for a few weeks now, and hadn’t really had a whole lot of down time. There are several additional investigations regarding my identity theft, which is emotionally taxing having to tell my story over and over again to various investigators and insurance companies. I thought it was over when my credit report was wiped clean, but apparently I was wrong. There’s a lot going on at work. I’ve been teaching some workshop-type sessions to a total of 70+ people, and I have another set of them this week, on top of my regular duties and in addition to the other various projects, of course. None of this is bad, it just means adding another ball to the ones I’m already juggling. And it’s all good stuff, there’s just a lot of it right now (when it rains it pours, right?). I had company last weekend, but that meant I was busy all weekend. I love company, but it means doing a lot and going lots of places, and it tends to be intense (emotionally and by being busy) since they’re only visiting for a few days and you try to pack what would normally be months of stuff into 36 hours. I’m so glad my friend was here, but I was exhausted going into my work-intense week, and I know she’s felt the same way (happy to have seen each other, but exhausted).

I could feel myself approaching “stop the world I want to get off RIGHT NOW.”

So I listened to myself for once and took some time. I slept late. I took care of some household chores I hadn’t had time to do. I organized my office (which desperately needed it). I relaxed and watched some bad TV (America’s Next Top Model, baby). I read all the funny April Fool’s Day jokes people pulled (GMail paper cracked me up!). I feel no guilt about doing this, because it’s either take the day off, or I’ll have a breakdown later. Inevitably, if I don’t get enough downtime mentally, eventually my body physically has a breakdown and I end up with forced time off by getting sick. I don’t like being sick. So every now and then, when I feel myself getting overwhelmed and cranky about mundane things, I try to listen to myself and take it as a sign that I need a day off from the world to recharge.

Today was that day. I took the day off from the world. And it was wonderful.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

