Saturday…Latin dancing!

So my friend L and I had a low key day yesterday during the day. We slept in a bit, and didn’t manage to get out of the house until around 1pm, at which point we went in search of food. We ended up at an Indian place called New Delhi. Good buffet, with dessert included, and not too far from me.

Once our bellies were full, we headed out to the mall. I know this sounds like an odd thing to do with a visitor, but L wanted to search for some jeans, and my birthday gift to her was a gift card to her favorite store. And it is Borders Educator Appreciation Weekend (25 percent off your total bill for educators…a very very good deal). L needed a book to read on the plane since she finished the one she had on her way here, and I wanted to pick up some children’s books for my friends’ kids and a couple of Philly travel guides. We ended up at King of Prussia Mall because it had both L’s store and Borders. And we spent way way to long wandering around the mall. The place is huge. Massive. To the point of overwhelming. We limited ourselves to only the part that had Borders and her store, and we still spent a good 4 hours walking around. I’ve never been much of a mallrat, but I can imagine that King of Prussia Mall is a mallrat’s wet dream.

We finally found our way back to the car, and headed home to change, walk and feed the dog, and prepare to head out for some Latin dancing. We did some research earlier in the day to pick a place to go, and chose Cafe Habana. It’s a Cuban restaurant near Rittenhouse Square in Center City. We read some reviews, and they serve dinner until around 10pm, and starting at 11pm, they turn the restaurant into a Latin club until 2am. And every review we read talked about how amazing the mojitos are. We must investigate this claim, we decided. L and I both love to dance, and Latin is a particular favorite.

So we found our way to Cafe Habana, and ordered a coupe of mojitos. Wow. Yes, the mojitos are FABULOUS. Authentic, made with fresh mint, fresh lime juice, and they don’t skimp on the rum. While we sipped our drinks, we watched the dancers. Again, wow. Suddenly, we felt slightly out of our league. There were some amazing dancers. Just amazing. We both admitted that looking that good is something we dream about.

We looked around, and realized that we were definitely in the minority, being a couple of gringas, and all the other gringos and gringas were somehow connected with the Hispanics there. Well then, it’s not the first time we’ve been in that situation and it probably won’t be the last. So we continued to drink our mojitos, and watch the dancers. Eventually, we both got asked to dance, as it usually happens in Latin clubs, and had a blast. The music was great, a good mix, although sometimes the DJ switched through the songs too fast, so that just as you found your groove on one song, he was already mixing into another song. But he played a nice blend of salsa, merengue, some pop music (Shakira, my favorite, I’m a long time fan) and reggaeton. L’s only complaint was the lack of bachata music, which is one of her favorites. Overall, a great night. Fabulous mojitos, good music, and some dancing.

But now it’s Sunday, and our plan is to head downtown and wander for the afternoon. The only fallout from last night is that it’s been a slow start to our day again, but oh well, it’s not like we have any appointments to keep.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dancing, drinks, food, friendship, Philly, visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saturday…Latin dancing!

  1. Catechresis says:

    YAY for going dancing!!! (Oh, and Hi to L, too!) I’m SO glad you guys are celebrating in style. Love ya.

Leave a Reply

