I’ve got company for the weekend!

So one of my best friends from where I used to live is coming to visit me in Philly this weekend. YAY YAY YAY for visitors! I do love having people visit me, and since this is the weekend after my birthday, it’s even better. L and I will be celebrating her birthday (which is in February but I couldn’t attend her party) and my birthday this weekend. All weekend. Three days of celebrating each other and our friendship. I can guarantee the weekend will include lots of laughter, plenty of silliness, a cornucopia of food, and some dancing. I‘m not expecting to get a lot of sleep but I am expecting to have a lot of fun!

L and I met shortly after I moved to my previous city of residence (PCOR for short) and really hit it off. We became fast friends; one of those people you meet and just click with instantly. I can honestly say that when I think of my five best friends
, she’s one of them. My godmother always said that if you have five people you can say are true friends that accept you and love you through it all, you’re very lucky and more than blessed in life.

And yes, this is the same L of the “trust me” fame. She said that to me a lot over the 5 years I lived there, and introduced me to some amazing people, incredible music, delicious food, and most of the excellent things my PCOR had to offer. Now it’s my turn to say “trust me” to her as we gallivant around Philly for the weekend.

We will be eating our way across Philly. If you couldn’t tell from my posts about New York City, part of really experiencing a city for me is experiencing the food it has to offer and fortunately L agrees. I haven’t had a chance to do much experiencing yet, so I’m looking forward to exploring my new city a little bit more this weekend both in it’s food options and the city in general as well. Visitors are an excellent opportunity to play tourist in your own city. And we plan to do just that.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, Philly, visitors. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

