The great carpet debacle, part three: the END

They finished the carpet today. Showed up at 6:00 am and got it done by 10:00 am. My landlord was here to supervise. They even put all the furniture back where they were supposed to. And Aussie survived, although she was NOT happy to go in her kennel while there were strange people in her house.

I called him on Tuesday night to confirm that they were showing up the next morning. Also to let him know there was only one roll of padding and I needed “kick strips” where the carpet meets the hallway floor. Yes, he said, they’re still coming, he’s already on the supplies, BUT they want to get started an hour earlier than planned. If you remember, the original start time was 7:00 am, right before I would be leaving for work, and now they want to start at 6:00 AM. An unGODly hour. I normally get up between 5:30 and 6:00 am. But fine, get here and get it done. I’m willing to get up super-early because I want my house back.

So I spent Tuesday night taking apart my bedroom, moving anything I could into the guest room. First thing in the morning, after my shower, I unmade my bed, folding up all the sheets and piling them into the guest room as well so all that was left was my mattress.

Now tonight I get to put my bedroom back together and remake the bed. It’s been a long day. I was at work a good 45 minutes earlier than normal (startling my staff, I think). I usually have only one cup of coffee in the morning, but today I needed a refill. But I have new carpet. And there’s nothing living in my upstairs hallway anymore.

I have my house back.

[Insert relieved sigh]

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in carpet, house, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

