The great carpet debacle, part two: this weekend

So part one of the great carpet debacle brings us to today. Sunday. And it begins again. To refresh your memory, my landlady, the handyman and I agreed during a phone conversation this past Wednesday evening that the handyman would be here at 11am to start work.

At 11:20am the handyman calls me and tells me he’s running late (big surprise, this is NOT new) and he’ll be here “within the hour.” Fine.

Noon comes and goes. 12:30pm comes and goes. And then 1pm comes and goes. I start having flashbacks to last weekend when he was 8 hours late. I can’t stand it. I’m going to lose my mind. I start pacing and muttering, once again scaring the dog. Aussie goes and hides in her kennel, preparing for my inevitable verbal explosion. Smart dog.

At 1:30pm I call my landlady. She’s not available so I’m put through to her partner. He says he’ll call and find out what’s up. 1:40pm he calls back, tells me the handyman had a family emergency (wait…isn’t that last weekend’s excuse?!) and would be here in 20 minutes. OK, that’s 2:00pm. He also tells me the handyman is supposed to call him when he shows up.

At 2:20pm I start cursing. In several languages. The inevitable verbal explosion has begun. Aussie continues to hide in her kennel. Definitely a smart dog.

At 2:30pm I call my landlady’s partner and tell him that the handyman still isn’t here. And that I’m done with waiting this weekend and the handyman as a whole and new arrangements need to be made because this is ridiculous and completely unacceptable. I don’t want to deal with this handyman anymore at all, not just for this project of the new carpet but for anything in the future as well. I’m tired of the lack of communication from the handyman and his perpetual lateness. I just can’t deal with it and I shouldn’t have to. Period. This second weekend has crossed the line and I’m done. My patience with the handyman is gone. He agrees and tells me he’ll call me back with the new plans.

At 2:45pm the handyman shows up to work. Are you f*cking kidding me?!?! He’s 4 hours late. Four hours. So he starts work on the office, which I’d really like to have back in this lifetime. And I told him to NOT do anything in the bedroom. Just get the office done and get out. I’m not exactly polite. Aussie comes out of her kennel and gives him a piece of her mind. She starts following me around the house, and watches the handyman whenever he leaves the vicinity of the office.

At 3:00pm my landlady’s partner calls back. He’s surprised the handyman is here, because apparently he didn’t call him like he was supposed to. He tells me to go ahead and have him work, so I can at least have my office back. He also tells me I won’t have to deal with this handyman in the future, and that he’s done with the handyman too. Even though I don’t particularly want him here now, I agree to let him work because I want my office back. And I thank him for understanding that I don’t want to deal with this handyman in the future.

He also wants to schedule someone during the week (someone new) to re-carpet bedroom. Assures me either he or my landlady will be here to supervise. I say fine, but I need at least 24 hours notice to prepare the room. I explain that I cannot move the furniture myself so to make arrangements to move stuff when he plans for the carpet. And the dog has to go in her kennel for the day. Aussie is NOT going to be happy to have people in the house when I’m not home AND be stuck in her kennel during it. But in the interest of getting my house back, I agree to it. I want this done. I want the carpet and supplies OUT of my hallway.

I want my house back, dammit.

I can’t say I was nice or really even polite to the handyman while he was here working. Not mean or overtly rude to him, but definitely NOT friendly. I guess you could describe my behavior as curt. Terse. Abrupt. Brief. Even rudely brief. Basically, I’ve just ignored him, only talking to him when necessary or if he has something to tell me. I’m not necessarily proud of the fact that I haven’t been all that polite, but my control on my temper and my patience with him is thin at best right now. So in the interest at not losing it altogether, I’m ignoring him and being rather curt when we do have to interact.

At 11:15pm the handyman finally finishes laying the carpet, cleans up and leaves. Yes, it’s after 11pm on a Sunday night. That’s way way past my bedtime because I have to be up by 6:00am to get to work. But I have my office back. Now comes the fun part – putting everything back in it. I’ll leave that for tomorrow night. Right now I need to make my bed and get some sleep.

And the latest from my landlady’s partner on the rest of the carpet (which is still living in my hallway)? The bedroom will be done on Wednesday. They’ll be here at 7:00am. Thank the heavens. This should all be over soon.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in carpet, house, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

