Identity update: it’s MINE again!

So I’m out of the woods. All three accounts were determined to be fraudulent and removed from my credit file. The jobs and address for the b*tch who did this have also been removed from my credit file. This also means that I am NOT, I repeat, NOT financially responsible for any of it and have no record of her on my credit report. Nothing. I’m cleared. My identity is ALL MINE again.

This is not, however, stopping my vigilance. The fraud alert on my credit file has been extended until April. I will be requesting a final copy of my credit report from all three agencies then, and will most likely request another copy about 6 months from now just to be sure nothing additional surfaces.

In related news, two of the three creditors have contracted with reclamation agencies to find the vehicles (yes, plural, 2 to be exact) that were bought under my SSN. Apparently they have to try and find the cars before they can be financially reimbursed by their insurance companies for the loss. Both agencies have contacted me to try and track the b*tch who did this down. They both asked for all my previous addresses in the city to weed them out, as well as any previous employers in the past 5 years. One even read a list of names to me to see if I recognized anyone (I didn’t). The third account was for an open line of credit, and I haven’t heard anything from any reclamation agency for that, so I think that creditor is just filing it as a loss with their insurance agency. No physical property means nothing to find, I guess.

In addition, the loss of these vehicles is being considered theft (well, duh). So one of the creditors contacted the police department for their district and filed a report. The police are now investigating the vehicle theft and have contacted me for information and anything additional I can tell them (i.e. people I spoke with, anything else I may have learned since I filed paperwork, etc.) since it’s related to my identity theft. Just to be clear, this is NOT an investigation of my identity theft, but rather an investigation into the missing vehicle bought under my name with my SSN.

Apparently an individual who had their identity stolen can do nothing to prompt investigation (see previous posts), all you can do is file piles and piles of paperwork, but when there’s a $20,000 vehicle involved, someone makes a few phone calls, files a report, and investigations happen. That’s so depressing…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

