Nighttime hilarity in NJ

Once B, E, and I made it back to E’s apartment in NJ from NYC safely each night (the safely part became debatable a few times), walked the dogs (E and I braved the cold, B is a wimp), and after we thawed out our extremities (my toes are still cold, FYI), the three of us plopped on the couch for some bad TV (never channel surf on a sugar high), some good TV (Sarah Silverman’s ‘Jesus is Magic’), junk food, computer time, inappropriate text messages (Jeff, we apologize and we love you!) and general hilarity.

You know you’re in a room of librarians when the first thing we all do is pull out our laptops, connect via wireless, and proceed to spend the next few hours uploading photos and making comments on each others photos and laughing. Constantly laughing. As if we aren’t all sitting less than 5 feet from each other. Priceless. And the reason we don’t have a picture of this scene…we were all sitting on the couch together, too busy to attempt taking a photo with making comments and notes on our Flickr photos. The dogs, having been fed and walked, frankly didn’t give a damn. I think E’s dog Elston went to bed and I know my dog, Aussie, snored rather loudly on several occasions from her dog bed in the corner.

Once the blogging and photo editing and photo commenting was complete, we broke out the junk food and drinks. [Note: this did get the dogs’ attention, both sitting and staring and waiting politely for us to drop something.] We had the world’s greatest sugar high both nights. Between the treats from Magnolia Bakery (cupcakes on Saturday and ice box cake on Sunday), the soda and vodka drink (now dubbed the Philly classic), chocolate in various forms, and honey bow ties, I think I’m finally losing my sugar high 18 hours later. We did add some salt to the mix, in the form of pizza and Pringles. Oh yeah, we OD’ed on junk food. I’m actually looking forward to my salad for dinner tonight.

With all the sugar in our system, things got goofy really fast. Now, B, E, and I are naturally a little (OK, maybe a lot) on the nutty side, but let’s just say I nearly peed my pants more than once and damn if my stomach didn’t get a work out from all the laughing. This is when we started channel surfing through really bad TV, sending inappropriate (not nasty or mean, just really really silly) text messages to friends, and taking goofy photos involving finger puppets and fez monkey swizzle sticks. Naturally, these photos were uploaded the next day for another round of commenting and laughing.

If you can’t be goofy and off the wall with your friends, then who can you be goofy with? I, for one, am very grateful that I have friends like B and E who won’t let me forget the stupid things I say and do, but know that I have just as much crap on them that I won’t let them forget, and we all know that we love each other in spite of everything and because of everything. These are good friends. And we had a really good time with lots of good food. Which, I believe, is what we aimed for: comfort and laughter and general good fun and good food with some good friends. We reached our goal and then some. I call the weekend a success!

We’re planning another get together sometime in early April. New York City, prepare yourself.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, New York City, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Nighttime hilarity in NJ

  1. bonster says:

    stop spreading lies, you dirty little ______! (*ahem*)i do believe i attended the evening dog walk the first night; therefore, i am but a partial wimp.so there.

Leave a Reply

