NYC, day 1

So yesterday B, E, and I ventured into the city for burgers and cupcakes.

First priority was some lunch. We found our way through Chelsea, seeing an amazing display of Russian nesting dolls in a storefront window. Our destination was the Half King for some burgers and onion rings. Unfortunately, on Saturday they have a brunch menu until 4pm, which meant no onion rings. But burgers and beer were still available. So we all got the same thing, Boddington’s and burger, but we did manage to vary on the cheese selection. Oh, and fries and a giant pickle on the side. I can’t speak to the onion rings, but I definitely recommend the burgers.

To avoid the inevitable food coma, we decided to walk down to the Village for cupcakes at Magnolia. We did make a stop for chai lattes from Starbucks. And we saw a store called Shoegasm. My love of shoes is genetic, and they had to stop me from running across 4 lanes of traffic to do some shopping. We reached Magnolia, and queued up for cupcakes. After 15 minutes of waiting in line, with an incredibly annoying group of people behind us (like, OMG, like I totally love him…) that made all three of us want to commit homicide, we eventually reached the nirvana that was the selection of cupcakes available from Magnolia.

The cupcakes in all their glory…look at the sprinkles! And the daisy!


Once we had our quarry, we headed back across the river to walk the dogs and collapse on the couch. We successfully made it back to the car, cupcakes unscathed.

But there was one more event that had to happen to make the day complete. We start to leave the parking lot, pulling out through the line of waiting taxi cabs into traffic when the following exchange occurred:

E: “Look out for that cone!”
B: “What cone? I don’t see any cone!”
E/S: “The one RIGHT IN FRONT of the car!!”
B: “Oh, that cone…”

As we pulled into traffic, dragging the yellow traffic cone under the car for about a half a block before it dislodged itself from B’s car. Somehow, we managed to get back to the apartment without getting into an accident, despite the hysterical laughter that gave us all stomachaches. It was three hours before we were able to eat the cupcakes.

I wonder what day 2 in NYC will bring…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, New York City, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NYC, day 1

  1. Heather D says:

    OK – Staci’s friend Heather here… I found my way to your blog thru her. I’m laughing to myself because I too reached cupcake nirvana at Magnolia Bakery and I too took a picture of them. I’m only telling you this because everyone thought I was insane for taking a picture of a cupcake – but I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who thinks these cupcakes are photo worthy.

Leave a Reply

