Fun, food, & comfort

I’m off for the weekend. Specifically, off to visit friends and seek some comfort in the varied restaurants of New York City. I’m sure there will be posts about our gastronomic adventures.

Food is the ultimate in comfort. So much can be tied to smell and taste, that certain foods always, always, make you feel better. After a weeks worth of nasty weather, some really nasty events in personal lives, and general chaos at work, we are all in need of some comfort and laughter and general good fun and good food with some good friends.

On the agenda so far is chocolate, more chocolate, cupcakes, mac ‘n’ cheese, fries & onion rings done diner style, and (as always) coffee. And, bonus, it’s Chinese New Year so we will hopefully be making our way to Chinatown for some of the festivities and food. I’m packing my “jeans with room to spare” in anticipation.

So what’s your favorite comfort food?

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in food, friendship, life, New York City, travel. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fun, food, & comfort

  1. bonster says:

    i’m packing the camera for fun, fabulous food shots!

  2. Jessica says:

    The meal that makes me feel like I’m being taken care of: Peanut butter sandwich, chocolate milk, some sort of chip. It’s totally something that my mom would make me, thus the reason it’s comfort food.

Leave a Reply

