When it’s time to switch to a new ISP*

When you call the help desk because the piece of crap modem they gave you is acting up again (third time in six months, which is so not a good ratio) and you spend one and a half hours on the phone with them only to have them tell you “reset” your modem with a paper clip (yes, a paper clip) so they can “reprogram” it from their end.

When you could have saved one hour and 15 minutes of that conversation if they had just done that from the beginning like you told them instead of testing the line five times and checking every damn aspect of your computer’s network software again (since you did all of this before you called).

When the technician you’ve waisted over a hour of your life with on the phone tells you at the end of your rather tense conversation (where you’ve spent a lot of time practicing deep breathing and counting to 10 so you don’t scream) that they’ve learned a lot because you obviously know a lot more about computers and networks than they do.

Yeah. It’s time to start shopping for a new ISP.

*ISP = internet service provider

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in internet, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

