Valentine’s Day

I am not a big fan of Valentine’s Day. Particularly because I always seem to be one of the have nots. When you have displays of pink and red and hearts everywhere, sweetheart specials, and commercials focusing on love and giving gifts to or receiving gifts from those you love, the fact that you AREN’T dating anyone or don’t have anyone special in your life is made painfully obvious. Painfully. This year I was disgusted to see Valentine’s Day displays before Christmas. After weeks (or this year, months!) of this, having a pity party (my friend has raised this to an art form, so take notes) is quite appealing.

Even when I did have someone Valentine’s Day sucked. There was the year I got dumped 2 days after Valentine’s Day. Or the year the person I was dating completely forgot the day entirely. For years I’ve watched my friends get Valentines. When they did those pay $1 and give X to someone in school as a fund raiser I never got one. Never.

Me, I do get a Valentine every year. From my mom. No joke. She has always given me and my sister Valentines. All of my fond memories of Valentine’s Day are because of her. When we were kids we’d come down to breakfast on Valentine’s Day morning and there would be one of those giant heart-shaped boxes of candy sitting on the table with a card. She continued to send me a Valentine even in college. I always got a “care package” of candy with a card for Valentine’s Day. Even now I know she’ll probably send me a card. It’s a reminder that someone loves you and cares for you. And I am grateful to her for reminding me of that.

I do give Valentines to my friends that are have nots like me, or in the middle of a break up, or in crappy relationships/relationship limbo, because I firmly believe everyone needs to be reminded that someone loves them. Even if I don’t get one back (I usually don’t, but oh well, I know my friends love me).

So this year I’m a have not (as usual). And my dating attempts so far have been failing miserably. But I will still be giving Valentines to my friends. And I’ll be throwing myself a pity party. And you are not invited. So there.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dating, Valentine's Day. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine’s Day

  1. Anna says:

    Aww… I sent you a card just now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

