Friendship rules

[In honor of my “week o’ Mondays” last week.]

There are several “rules” to being friends. These are pretty standard and include things like loyalty, being supportive, willingness to hate someone just because they hurt your friend, etc. One of the most important rules, however, revolves around the idea of crappy days or weeks. I would consider this a cardinal rule of friendship.

Only ONE friend is allowed a crappy day or week at a time. This enables the other friend to be there and be supportive of said friend with a crappy week. This also enables the other friend to know when they need to call and check in on their friends. If you’re having a fantastic week, you better check in on all your best friends because someone, someone is having a god-awful one. Rarely does everyone have an excellent week all at the same time. That would just be too much happiness for the universe and it might implode.

So the next time you’re having a crappy week, be comforted by the fact that your lousy week is allowing one of your friends to have an awesome week. And know that while they’ll support you during the crap parade this week, you’ll be able to return the favor in the future when you’re having a good week.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in friendship, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

