Pots and pans!

I have new pots and pans! Woo hoo! Happy dance around the kitchen!

I had a message when I got home from UPS telling me they had a package that would be delivered between 8AM and 7PM that day. I was a little confused, knowing I hadn’t ordered anything. And given my past experience with UPS, I figured I had missed them but there was no little UPS sticky note on my front door. So I waited. And naturally, as soon as I went upstairs to change pants the doorbell rang and the dog went nuts. So back down I went, without changing my pants, to greet the UPS man. Who had a VERY big box. From Amazon.com. Addressed to me. Still confused, I signed for said package and pulled the box indoors, all while trying to keep Aussie from defending my honor and following the UPS man out the door to chase him down the steps. I’m not sure if she wanted to make friends or not, but she made a LOT of noise.

Imagine my surprise to see that the contents of said box had been ordered by my dad in Australia. My BIRTHDAY GIFT!! [Note: for those of you that have difficulty with dates, and you know who you are, this is a good month and a half early, so don’t worry.] A few years ago, it was decided that we would dispense with exchanging Christmas gifts. His wife has 4 sons, who among them have 6 sons (so far). So my dad and his wife focus on the grandsons at Christmas rather than the daughters and sons and daughters-in-law (because wow, there’s a lot of us) and we do big birthday gifts instead. I’m okay with that. In fact, I now do the very same thing with some of my friends. That way the costs of gift giving are spread out over the year and it helps ease some of the insanity around the holidays.

Dad had told me what he was going to get me, based on what I had ranked as “high” or “highest” on my Amazon.com wish list. I just didn’t expect it so soon. So while I knew what it was, it’s arrival was still a surprise. Pretty good deal, huh?

Back to the contents of the box. Inside was a set of Calphalon One Infused Anodized pots and pans. These are damn good pots and pans. “Investment” pieces for your kitchen. They are gorgeous. Seriously. I’ve been lusting after them for quite some time now. When I decided I wanted some really nice pots and pans, I did my research, and decided on Calphalon. Because they’re fantastic. Oven AND broiler safe. With a lifetime warranty (provided you don’t put them in the dishwasher, which I don’t have, so it’s not an issue). I should never need to buy pots and pans again. They’re that good.


The box

The gorgeous pots and pans themselves


I’ve been slowly outfitting my kitchen with good quality tools. I started with my dishes. Denby Imperial Blue. Then my flatware. For this I saved up Betty Crocker points (unfortunately they’ve discontinued their catalog and points) and went with Oneida in the Paramount pattern. Over the years I’ve asked for and received several small appliances including a rice cooker, a blender, an electric kettle (beyond useful, highly recommended investment) and a good quality toaster. When I made these requests I received not only the appliance but many looks and “are you sure” questions. Apparently unmarried people in their early and mid 20s don’t ask for small kitchen appliances as gifts. Go figure. A few birthdays ago I received the KitchenAid Artisan Series Stand Mixer. Not only an amazing kitchen appliance, but a work of art at the same time. Alton Brown painted flames on his.

A year ago I finally bought a good quality set of knives. I had been using hand me down knives for years, and they had gotten to the point that they just weren’t holding an edge. And dull knives are a safety hazard. I did have one knife I really loved, by J. A. Henckels. So I ended up with a set of their International Classic knives complete with knife block. They cut through anything like butter. It’s fabulous. Of course, since I had been using old knives, my cutting boards weren’t all that great either. So to go with the knives I bought a set of bamboo cutting boards. They work great.

And now I have good quality amazing pots and pans. With the exception of baking pans (I don’t bake much so I’m not too worried), a few random items, and adding to my dishes, my kitchen is pretty much complete.

So THANK YOU, DAD! I’m so very excited to actually try cooking with them. I’m going to go pull some chicken out of the freezer to thaw right now…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in birthday, cooking, gifts, life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

