Conference crud

Every conference there is a percentage of individuals who catch the “conference crud.” This can be described as the cold from hell. These people still have to attend every meeting and session anyway because they’re there for a reason. So there’s always a few people coughing and blowing their noses. Half of my committee had this version of the crud by our second meeting this Midwinter. Some people get a crud that’s even worse: they puke their guts out (food poisoning? possibly…or just the crud). These people fortunately stay in their hotel rooms and just consider the conference a wash.

The worst thing is that you cannot avoid people with the crud. They’re everywhere…shuttle buses, meetings, the exhibit floor, everywhere (unless they’re puking in their hotel room). Each conference I try to NOT catch the crud. Some years I’m successful, and don’t get sick.

This year I’m not so lucky. I have the crud. Fortunately, I have the cold from hell version. My head aches, my body aches, my head is stuffed up so I can’t breathe through my nose (fortunately the dog doesn’t care if I snore or drool while I sleep with my mouth open) and to top it off, the air is so dry from the heat that I keep getting minor nose bleeds whenever I blow my nose. Ick.

I’m going back to bed now…

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in conferences, sick. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Conference crud

  1. Anna says:

    Sending you healing thoughts and virtual orange juice. Hope you get over it soon.

  2. bonster says:

    I, too, have the crud. It attacked rather stealthfully yesterday afternoon. Zicam could not keep it away (I’d been popping it faithfully for several days). Yesterday did me in. It might have been the fact that I didn’t get home from work until 10 p.m. (orientation for job #2), or random otherness. Regardless, it is here. Headache, sore throat, aches. Oh, yeah! Time for tea and then back to my cave …(oh, and my cat, whom i love dearly, insists on sleeping on my head. that’s generally fine, but he has some seriously bad gas, and i’m not stuffed up enough NOT to smell it.)

  3. Catachresis says:

    Bon- I’m sorry you feel bad (Shana, too)… but that side-commentary on your cat’s gas is just HILARIOUS!!!Shana… why are you not at home taking care of yourself???!!!

Leave a Reply

