Search for a new hobby

A couple of my friends and I have been discussing hobbies and coming to the realization that beyond reading, we don’t really have any. Call it the disease of the young professional, but somewhere between grad school and my first professional position, my hobbies disappeared. Oh, and I’ve been a part time grad student for the past 4 years. That killed any hobbies that managed to survive that first year as a professional librarian.

So we decided we need to do something about this. We’ve been brainstorming ideas, trying to come up with something creative that isn’t so completely out there we’d have to do research to get started. While I love looking at the stars, becoming a weekend amateur astronomer was just way too much work. So we’ve decided to explore scrapbooking. Before you laugh your ass off, think about it. How many of you have boxes of unorganized photos from trips and conferences and piles of pictures of your pets? Raise your hands. See?! We all have that box (or two, or three…).

We’ve decided to start with scrapbooks of our pets. We all have pets, so material is readily available. That’s as far as we’ve gotten. Now, which one of you reading this knows something about how to turn a pile of photos into a scrapbook as opposed to just a photo album (I do have those, but I know there’s a difference)? Help is needed!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in hobbies, photos. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Search for a new hobby

  1. bonster says:

    the best part about our new “hobby” is that the three of us can do it together!

  2. Emily says:

    I agree! We need to plan our first weekend for doing all of this. I vote for early February before we get too individually wrapped in our scrapbooks.

  3. Anna says:

    Check with your local craft supply store. I’ll bet that they have a scrapbooking class or something like that.I’m more of a photo album kinda gal. I need to get a new one ’cause I have a bunch of un-filed photos.

  4. Catachresis says:

    Okay. Links for Stampen’ Up stuff– stamps, cards, do-it-yourself backgrounds, etc: http://www.stampinup.com/us/enu/default.asp They also have lots of samples for you to get ideas from (or copy), and good quality supplies that all color-coordinate.If you want to do scrap books right, however, you really need to get in touch with a girlfriend of mine who sells the Creative Memories stuff– it is specifically for photos and topic-oriented scrap books. All their supplies are acid-free, and even buffered so other products you use that HAVE acid can’t get to and ruin your photos over time. Pretty cool. Let me know if you want her info– she has put together several gorgeouse books so far for her family. And she has pets.www.creativememories.comJust my input. Hope it helps. Plan a weekend if you want to actually complete the whole thing TOGETHER– otherwise, plan to do a page together one evening and talk about your color and background pattern plans. That is where you probably want the most input from each other anyway.

Leave a Reply

