Online dating

I’m trying to get out there and meet people. So, under the recommendation of several people that have had great success, I’m trying the online dating thing again.

Yes, again. Last time I did meet someone, and it was great for awhile, but then it turned into a royal disaster. Which kind of sours you on the whole dating thing in general for some time. Especially when your ex posts a profile on an online dating site less than 3 months after you’ve moved out, and without telling you about it (I found out through a friend they contacted. What, you thought I wouldn’t find out? Please.), AND while swearing they want to try and work things out with you at the same time. Whatever.

But, I’m never (ok, almost never) one to close my mind to things. So I’m giving it another go. It’s hard to meet people in a new city. Even if there are groups and activities that you’re interested in. Participation does not equal finding someone interested in dating you or that you’re interested in dating. I’ve also been told by many people that dating in Philly is really difficult. In light of this and the recommendations of others, I’m trying the online thing. Again.

I’m not saying which sites I’m trying this time, and I will not be posting a link to whatever profile I set up. This is not a review of my profile nor a commentary/review on the different online options. Just a simple FYI that I’m jumping into the dating fray again. So brace yourself, plug your nose, and dive on in.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in dating, Philly. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Online dating

  1. Anna says:

    I was having an email conversation with a friend today, and some of what she wrote reminded me of your blog post about online dating. Here’s the first part:That said, I really do hope that your situation changes. New faculty member, new neighbor, somebody who orders the exact opposite pizza as you and you have to spend the next several years ordering pizza-employee-befuddling half-and-half pizzas because neither of you wants to eat a whole one and neither of you can tolerate the ingredients on the other one’s half. Same crust, though — it’d have to be the same crust or the relationship would be doomed from day one.And then later she followed it up with:Pizza. Who needs personal ads and online dating?So, maybe you should also try hanging out at the local pizza joint. You never know…. 😉

Leave a Reply

