The joys of city living

There are lots of things I like about living in the city. The proximity of the things I like to do. The ease of getting around. The diversity of the residents.

There are, however, things I could do without. Most notably: CAR ALARMS. Specifically between the hours of 1AM and 6AM.

Last night a car alarm went off and woke me up around 4:35AM. This was not one of those whistle and bell alarms that stops after a couple of cycles. No, this was the kind that is the incessantly honking horn of the car. The kind that keeps going and going until someone actually turns the bloody thing off or the car battery dies.

What’s more irritating, this is the second time in less than a month that this particular alarm has gone off between 3 and 5AM. Last time, it took the owner over 30 minutes to turn the damn thing off. Last time I couldn’t get back to sleep. This time I finally got back to sleep after 20 minutes with several pillows over my head to muffle the sound of the horn. The problem with this approach: I almost slept through my alarm this morning because I couldn’t hear it through the pillows!

This defies logic to me. Isn’t the point of a car alarm to notify you if someone tries to break into your car? And if you ignore it in the middle of the night or don’t hear the alarm, or worse yet have no intention of responding to it in the first place (which is what I suspect with this particular vehicle’s owner), then why torture the rest of us with the noise? Doesn’t this fall under “noise pollution” statues in the city? I’m going to have to look into/research this and see if next time I can call the police and have the person/car ticketed for disturbing the peace (and my night’s sleep)!

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life, neighborhood, Philly, sleep. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The joys of city living

  1. Catachresis says:

    I still like the oreo idea better. Or you could get a bar of soap, find the car, and write a “4-sale, cheap!” sign on it. There’s a certain style to that response that really appeals to me. =) And, if you’re lucky, someone from OUTSIDE your neighborhood will buy it! =)

Leave a Reply

