Proving my identity

So the past few days I’ve been dealing with the theft of my identity. I’ve learned a few things, and have become very adept at explaining the situation succinctly and clearly, both on the phone and in paperwork.

Things I’ve done:

1. Completed multiple copies of the federal ID Theft Affidavit
2. Called the credit agencies on my credit report to report the fraud and to begin proceedings to have the fraudulent accounts removed from my credit record.
3. Cried.
4. Filed a police report.
5. Filed a report with the FTC.
6. Screamed.
7. Requested copies of my credit report from the other two credit agencies.
8. Talked to my bank.
9. Spent A LOT of time on the phone.
10. Done a lot of research online trying to make sure I’m doing everything I need to do to protect myself and my credit.
11. Tried to figure out (theoretically) how this person got my info (nothing has been stolen, so suggestions?)

I’ve also learned a bit more about the situation. It appears to be an individual that is using my identity to establish themselves. They’ve used the same address for everything. All activity is limited to the same metro area where I used to live.

I’m angry right now. And scared. I’m feeling helpless and violated. I know I’m doing everything I’m supposed to do to prove the theft, but that doesn’t change the fact that the credit agencies and even the government have to believe me. I’m fairly certain they will (it’s quite clear, actually, that this person stole my identity), but it’s scary to think that someone wouldn’t believe me when I tell them who I am. And it’s frustrating that it’s MY responsibility to prove it.

The thing that’s pissing me off the most…they may be using the correct form of my Social Security Number and my birthdate, but they’ve spelled my last name wrong. And the fcuking credit agencies didn’t catch it or raise a red flag that the last name on the fake driver’s license they’re using doesn’t match the name on the (my) credit file/Social Security Number they’re using to get the credit. They didn’t do their job of verifying data before opening credit lines and now I’m paying for it. And there’s no excuse for that.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in identity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

