Moving

I’ve moved a lot in my life. More than the average human, I’m sure (with the one exception being nomads but I think I could give them a run for their money).

My most recent move brought me to Philadelphia in September. That’s less than 4 months ago. Other than hanging pictures and rearranging my storage options (which are limited due to very few closets in my new place), I’m unpacked. I’m still figuring out where to put a few things, but everything that was coming out a box is out of the box. I’m getting this packing, moving, and unpacking thing down to an art, but it’s still a pain in the ass.

I can find my way to and from work almost on autopilot now. But that’s on my bike. I haven’t attempted the bus yet, but I do know which bus to take and have printed out the schedules. I only live a little over 2 miles from work. [Side note: yes, ‘da hood exists less than 2 miles from major university and college campuses. As I mentioned previously, the area is “transitional” so it is being re-developed, mainly by the university.] I ride my bike for many reasons: the environment, the price of gas, the irritation that is commuting by car, I need the exercise (I’ve dropped a pant size in 3 months!) and lastly, I cannot justify paying $130 a MONTH to park on campus less than 3 miles from my home. Seriously. Especially living near a bus line that stops 2 blocks from the library and only 1 1/2 blocks from my house. Good God. $130/month? Are they freakin’ kidding me? I still have loans to pay off!

Back to the issues of moving, I found my way to and from major shopping needs (Target, groceries, etc.) without getting lost once for the first time in November. I get lost a lot. It’s how I learn my way around. I come from my mother’s school of learning a new city…get lost a lot when you first arrive, get the car towed once for good measure (be sure to keep some “mad” money in you wallet at all times to get your car out of impound), and after that, nothing fazes you and you can find your way just about anywhere. Last weekend I found my way successfully (admittedly with help from a friend from work who came along) to Whole Foods and Trader Joe’s. I’m now po’ again.

I’ve found the bank, the post office, and learned a very important lesson. Unless you have HOURS of extra time, do NOT drive into downtown Philly. If you do have to drive downtown, build in plenty of time to deal with people double parking and blocking the street and to find a parking place. And bring lots and lots of change for the parking meter. LOTS of change. I already got a parking ticket. On a SUNDAY morning before noon. Go figure.

Over the next few months I will be trying to find good food, good bars/drinks, and hopefully a social/dating life. Yes, I’m single, and dating can be hazardous to your health I know, and I’ve heard stories about trying to date in Philly that scare me. So my adventures should generate some pretty entertaining posts. Either that or they’ll be as depressing as hell. Time will tell.

About slmcdanold

I’m learning to laugh at myself on a daily basis. I’m a librarian (cataloger) and I love it. My job involves all things metadata related in any and all formats. I have been known to cause a ruckus when necessary (aka troublesome cataloger) and make no apologies for it. I have a passion for continuing education and teaching. I’m a newbie coder (still learning). I like to cook. I’m a fan of rugby (go Australian Wallabies!) and ice hockey (go Detroit Red Wings!). I’m car-free and bike/walk a lot. I’m learning to love running one stride at a time. I own (and love) a very mouthy cat with a punk attitude and a slightly neurotic rescue mutt.
This entry was posted in life, Philly. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

